Shamrock Shake Green Monster (5 PP+)

I know I am a TAD late (ok ok a month late!) on posting St. Patrick’s Day recipes but today I was craving a McDonald’s Shamrock Shake. I have no idea why? I haven’t had one of those evil things in 2 years. It just wasn’t worth it after I figured out it was 540 calories for one measy little shake. For all my WW peeps… that’s a whopping 13 PP+ for a gimic-y green colored drink. That’s half my daily points for the day. That wouldn’t cut it. I’d be hungry in an hour.

But when the craving hits, there’s no thinking of anything else. Am I right? So I decided to see if I could make one at home. Sorry if now you are craving a shamrock shake too but I think you’ll forgive me when you try my healthier version!

Shamrock Shake Green Monster
Recipe adapted from Peanut Butter and Peppers

Makes 1 serving

CB’s changes in red = 5PP+ per serving (without toppings) | 6PP+ per serving (with toppings)

INGREDIENTS
1/2 cup coconut milk, light, unsweetened (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk) (1)
1 tbsp chia seeds, optional (1)
3 drops green food coloring (I used 1 handful of spinach) (0)
1/2 cup greek yogurt, plain (I used 6 oz of Fage 0% greek yogurt) (2)
2 drops mint extract (I used 1/4 tsp of peppermint extract) (0)
1 banana, peeled and frozen (0)
1 Thin Mint Girl Scout Cookie, frozen is better (1)
1 packet Equal, optional (0)

Toppings
1/4 cup whipped cream, fat free (1)

1. Place all ingredients (in the order listed) in a blender and process until smooth.
2. Pour into a glass and top with whipped cream.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A/A-
If you are craving a healthier version of a shamrock shake this is a yummy alternative. It really hit the spot for me! The only thing I might change next time is to omit the mint extract b/c I think the Thin Mint cookie would be enough of the mint flavor for me. I’m also thinking about adding a little agave nectar to sweeten it up a little bit too. I’ll have to try coconut milk per the original recipe sometime and see if there’s a big difference in taste.

Something to say? Leave a comment

