Jenna’s Green Monster (5 PP+)

It only took one and now I’m slightly OBSESSED with green monster smoothies.

Drinking my green monster. I love to wear my Husband's shirts to sleep.

There are so many recipes on the internet. My friend Andrea (who inspired me to try my first green monster) sent me a few of her favorite recipes. I’m definitely making her “Pina Colada” one next!

Many people are put off by the green color but I kinda dig it. The brighter the better! lol. When it’s kinda brown or gray… that can be a little unsettling.

A much more flattering picture of me trying on Old Navy super skinny jeans!


Part of my obsession is probably just making them. It’s fun to throw things in a blender and mash it all up! (Maybe it’s just me? haha) I rarely use my blender so when I made my green monster smoothie this morning, it scared the CRAP out of my dog. Okkkkk… I may have been a little overzealous with the “puree” button. ;)

Next thing on my green monster related shopping list is to find some chia seeds. I admit I’m slightly freaked out b/c I imagine plants growing out of my head if I eat them but the health benefits of chia seeds being touted all over the internet is overwhelming. Even my pilates instructor/nutritionist raves about them.

Who else has the ch-ch-ch-chia song stuck in their head now?

Don’t lie. You know you do.

Jenna’s Green Monster
Recipe adapted from Green Monster Movement

Makes 1 serving

CB’s changes in red = 5 PP+ per serving

[NOTES: I do not count points for fruits or vegetables for this recipe so the only points are from the peanut butter, greek yogurt and almond milk IMO. Feel free to calculate points at your own discretion.]

INGREDIENTS
1 cup almond milk (I used Trader Joe’s unsweetened vanilla)
1 Tbsp vanilla flavored Jello pudding mix
1 spoonful greek yogurt (I used 1/4 cup 0% Fage)
2 Tbsp peanut butter (I used Better N Peanut Butter)
1 cup fresh spinach (I used 2 handfuls baby spinach)
1/2 banana (I used frozen banana)
2 strawberries (I used frozen unsweetened strawberries)
splash of water (I omitted)
Ice to thicken (I used 2 ice cubes)

1. Add all ingredients in the blender in the order listed except ice.
2. Blend it all together.
3. Add ice and blend until smooth.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A
The color is a little more “swampy” so it’s not as pretty but that’s b/c of the strawberries. I’m not sure if the pudding mix really does anything for me so I might omit next time. I do like adding the greek yogurt for more bulk and protein so I’ll probably keep doing that. This time I added 1/2 a banana instead of a whole and it was less banana-y for me so I liked it!

12 responses

    • Since I have no idea what a Tervis tumbler is I’m gonna say probably not. lol. I bought my cup from World Market. I just thought it was so stinkin’ cute b/c it resembles a take-out cup. I’m easily amused! :D

  1. Sounds so good. My husband bought my a blender for Christmas and Ive been in a smoothie frenzy. I made a carrot cake smoothie with carrots, spinach, Greek yogurt, cottage cheese, oats, cinnamon and some pineapple–so good!! I’ll have to try your smoothie recipes!

  2. Pingback: Andrea’s Pina Colada Green Monster (4 PP+) | See Cupcake Run

Something to say? Leave a comment

