Crock Pot Crab & Spinach Lasagna (12 PP+)

I’ve always been a fan of seafood.

Shrimp and crab are among my favorites. Of course I’m a big fan of sushi too. It’s probably not a surprise that I was born in the sign of the Crab either. I was destined to be a crab lover in some shape or form.

My husband isn’t a believer in the zodiac. He think it’s a load of crock (no pun intended!) but I think it’s kind of interesting how accurate they can be. FYI he’s a Pisces and we get “supposedly” along really well. Whew! Glad I married a good one.

Emotional and loving –> I love to give and receive hugs
Intuitive and imaginative –> I usually solve the CSI crime before the show ends
Shrewd and cautious –> I don’t let anyone in my Circle of Trust right away
Protective and sympathetic –> Don’t mess with anyone I love
Changeable and moody –> I read this one to my Husband and he said “Oh yeah definitely!” I proceeded to punch him
Overemotional and touchy –> I over analyze EVERYTHING
Clinging and unable to let go –> Once you make it in the Circle Of Trust, it’s hard for me to let you go

Yup! That’s definitely me in a nut shell. Can you relate to your zodiac sign?

Crock Pot Crab & Spinach Lasagna
Recipe adapted from Get Crocked!

Makes 6 servings

Original recipe = 12 PP+ per serving
CB’s changes in red = 12 PP+ per serving

INGREDIENTS
1 large onion, rough chop
2 medium carrots, diced (I omitted)
2 cloves garlic, minced
16 oz lump crabmeat, shredded (I used 12 oz instead)
10 oz frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
1 Tbsp fresh oregano, minced (I used 1 tsp dried oregano instead)
2 Tbsp fresh Italian parsley, minced (I used 2 tsp dried parsley instead)
1 Tbsp fresh thyme, minced (I used 1 tsp dried thyme instead)
1 tsp salt (I used kosher salt)
1 tsp fresh ground pepper
10 oz lasagna noodles, cooked and cut into thirds (I used uncooked* whole wheat lasagna)

* I used uncooked lasagna noodles b/c I don’t like my lasagna too mushy.

White Sauce:
2 Tbsp margarine, melted (I used unsalted butter instead)
2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1 cup nonfat milk
2 cups lowfat mozzarella cheese, shredded, divided
12 oz nonfat cottage cheese (I used 16oz LF cottage cheese)

1. In a large saucepan, saute the onion, carrots and garlic until fragrant and tender.
2. Add the crab meat, spinach, oregano, parsley, thyme, salt and pepper.
3. Transfer the crab mixture to the crock pot.
4. Add the cooked lasagna noodles per instructions cut into thirds, and mix well to combine.
5. In a large bowl, combine the margarine, flour, salt, milk, 1 cup of mozzarella cheese, and the cottage cheese.
6. Stir and blend for 2 minutes.
7. Pour the white sauce over the lasagna in the stoneware of the crock pot.
8. Cover and cook on Low 4-6 hours or on High for 2-3 hours.
9. Thirty minutes before the end of cooking, top the lasagna with the remaining mozzarella cheese and turn on High.

CB’s alternative instructions (It’s NOT lasagna if there’s no layers!)
1. In a large saucepan, saute the onion, carrots and garlic until fragrant and tender.
2. Add the crab meat, spinach, oregano, parsley, thyme, salt and pepper. Set aside.
3. To make white sauce: In a large bowl, combine the margarine, flour, salt, milk, 1 cup of mozzarella cheese, and the cottage cheese. Stir and blend for about 2 minutes.
4. Spoon 1/3 crab mixture into the bottom of your crock pot.
5. Break lasagna sheets to fit crock pot and arrange over crab meat mixture; top with half of white sauce.
7. Repeat with another layer and finish with remaining 1/3 of crab meat mixture.
8. Cover and cook on Low 4-6 hours or on High for 2-3 hours. [CB’S NOTES: I cooked on Low for 5 hours.]
9. Thirty minutes before the end of cooking, top the lasagna with the remaining mozzarella cheese and turn on High.

Enjoy!

Husband’s rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A-
While I was making it I wasn’t sure how it would set up b/c the white sauce never really got “thick” but I’m really happy with the way it came out. A good size portion for the amount of points. It was a little time consuming so I might not make it very often but when I’m craving crab and cheese, this is a yummy recipe to have!

2 responses

Something to say? Leave a comment

