Ode to Fage 0% Greek Yogurt

I wasn’t really a yogurt person before I started Weight Watchers.

And then a few people on the WW discussion board recommended greek yogurt and my relationship with yogurt changed.

Greek yogurt is thicker, creamier and slightly tangy. It also has a higher percentage of calcium and protein than regular yogurt. I’ve tried Oikos and Chobani greek yogurt but my favorite brand is Fage greek yogurt. Fage comes in different versions: 0%, 2%, with a variety of fruit etc. The 6oz 0% version is only 2 points! I buy that one instead of the one that comes with fruit already so that I can add what *I* want.

Some of MY favorite add-ins are 0% greek yogurt with 1 tbsp of Trader Joe’s lemon curd and raspberries for 5 points, 0% greek yogurt with 1 tbsp honey and fresh strawberries for 4 points, 0% greek yogurt with 1 tbsp SF raspberry preserves for 3 points or 0% greek yogurt with 2 tbsp FF whipped cream, 1 packet Equal and raspberries for 2 points. That simple breakfast keeps me full and satisfied all morning.

But the possibilities are endless.

I add grape nuts and 1 packet of equal. Then mix it really good so every bite gets a little crunch! ~Todd, my husband

I add 1 tbsp sf instant butterscotch pudding (only the powder), a packet of SF sweetener, a drizzle of pure vanilla extract and 1/4 oz sliced toasted almonds. ~LOLANYC, WW member

I add real maple syrup and sliced almonds. Another favorite is frozen dark sweet cherries, splenda and almond extract. Blueberries, splenda and lemon extract is good also. ~ADARLING315, WW member

Mix plain 0% yogurt with Frank’s Hot Sauce, to taste. Use as dip for red pepper strips, or celery, or potentially over grilled chicken strips or on a southwest style salad. Also Plain 0% greek yogurt with Torani SF syrups of various flavors. ~MY2CATS, 3fatchicks website

I take l/2 FF Greek yogurt and add l/4 package of dry SF/FF pudding mix (I like Chocolate Fudge the best). I will also mix in l teaspoon healthy oil, which makes it even better tasting. Another one is Redi whip FF topping and sliced strawberries if I have them. ~BRAND*NEW*ME, WW member

My 2 favorite ways to eat Greek yogurt: 1/2 c. plain Greek yogurt, 2 pkts Equal, 1/4 cup frozen blueberries, 1 tbsp chopped walnuts OR 1/2 c. plain Greek yogurt, 1 pkt Equal (stir these 2 together), then swirl in 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1 tbsp chopped walnuts. The other way I like to eat Greek yogurt is as a dip. I mix a packet of ranch dip mix into a 17-oz container of Fage. Makes a wonderful veggie dip. ~LAURA281, WW member

I add a sliced banana and a teaspoon or two of mini chocolate chips. ~LINDAS77, WW member

I put in frozen berries and mini choc chips. Also I add unsweetened cocoa powder and frozen strawberries (sometimes mini choc chips) then put it all in freezer for about 15 min. ~MOMOF3UNDER6, WW member

I’m a fan of greek yogurts in smoothies! I usually throw in a half of a banana, 20 blueberries and 3 big strawberries along with as much spinach as I can fit into the blender. ~GRACIEGOOSE13, 3fatchicks website

I add cinnamon, vanilla, 1 packet Equal. ~GEMINIGRL, WW member

I toss sliced cucumber in greek yogurt along with some salt, lemon juice, finely minced or mashed garlic (or green onion finely sliced), and lots of black pepper. Makes a great side. Sometimes I add shrimp or chicken in cubes and some snipped herbs like parsley or dill and I have a filling lunch salad. Horseradish is a nice addition. ~TOMMY, 3fatchicks website

I can’t stand mayonnaise so I use greek yogurt in any recipe that calls for mayo. It works just as well and to me, tastes a whole lot better. Today, I made chicken salad with chicken breast, onion, green apple, salt, pepper and held it all together with greek yogurt. ~CLIVEBIXBY, WW member [CB’S NOTES: I also use greek yogurt in place of sour cream too!]

I mix half Fage and half cottage cheese and sweeten it for a high protein filling snack-sometimes I add fruit. In the summer I do this and freeze it for a frozen treat. ~LYRICA7, WW member

I mix 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt with chopped up frozen fruit which I had defrosted in the microwave, once it is mixed I add a Tbsp of grape nuts to it. This is one of my favorite night time snacks. ~LULUBEL7, WW member

I make a cheesecake like dessert by adding in sugar free pudding mix (powder only). My favorite is SF pistachio pudding although the Jello brand chocolate fudge is really good too. I just stir the dry pudding mix into the yogurt, and return it to the fridge for a few minutes to set up. ~KAPLODS, 3fatchicks website

1 cup Greek yogurt, Sucralose sweetener to taste, 1/2 tsp. of vanilla, 1 Tbsp. of special dark unsweetened cocoa powder; mixed all up and frozen for 20 to 30 minutes. For extra chocolate, add mini chocolate chips. ~MRMKIRSCH, WW member

1 cup plain nonfat greek yogurt, 1 sliced banana, sprinkle of cinnamon, dash of vanilla extract, 1 tsp brown sugar, 1/4-1/2tsp agave nectar. Mix and let sit in the fridge for a few hours. It is SO good and filling, taste a little like banana pudding! You can also add some chopped walnuts too. ~SCOUT528, WW member

I like to mix together 1/3 cup each of ff Greek yogurt, FF milk, toasted rolled oats, and a 1 Tbsp of ground flax seed, then I let sit in the fridge overnight. In the morning I add whichever fruit I want that day like pears. ~GRANDMASLEGACY, WW member

I like to add coconut and a little SF chocolate fudge pudding mix. ~TINASHAR, WW member

My latest favorite is key lime Greek yogurt. Squeeze fresh lime juice (a lot) into your yogurt; add your sweetener of choice; stir & enjoy. ~SUMIRE, 3fatchicks website

I mix in some Crystal Light or similar sweetened drink powder. I really like the strawberry, orange, banana flavor. But start with just a tiny sprinkle – you can always add more but a little goes a long way! ~APRIL SNOW, 3fatchicks website

I add 2.5 cups of greek yogurt and 1 box SF banana pudding Jello pudding (dry powder) together which makes 4 servings. You can add a few Nilla wafers and drizzled Nutella over it a sweeter treat too. ~IAETJEN, 3fatchicks website

I sweeten and flavor my Greek yogurt with either 1 tbsp Dickinson lemon curd or 1 tbsp Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter. I also throw in a points worth of slivered almonds. ~MINMD2, WW member

A spinach and artichoke dip (powder) with Greek yogurt is delicious and low in points! I love it with carrots and celery! ~PENGUINOFSORTS, WW member

See what I mean??

Those are only a few of the ideas I found online. Get creative. You might come up with the next big Greek Yogurt craze. But don’t forget to come back and share with me!

* Please calculate points responsibly. *silly grin*

3 responses

  1. Awesome post today! I’m going to copy some of these ideas so I can give them a try later. I love my greek yogurt but recently got a little bored with it so these look like some good ways to make it interesting again :)

Something to say? Leave a comment

