Crock Pot Applesauce Chicken (5 PP+)

I’m not really a chicken person. I mean I like it. But it’s not usually my protein of choice. My husband loves chicken breast. What can I say? He’s a boob man. But I prefer beef or pork. Mmm… bacon. Fortunately for my husband chicken breast is so versatile (and point friendly) that I tend to cook with it the most these days. The thing about chicken is keeping it new and exciting for me to continue to eat it.

I don’t like dry chicken meat. Maybe that’s why I usually prefer the dark meat. But again. The white meat is more point friendly. Geez. Readers, do you see a trend here. Maybe this is why I use to be obese. It’s more obvious to me now how little I knew about the food choices I was making before. (Say that 10x fast!)

That’s why I was SO upset when my Husband told me that the Health teacher at his high school was pink slipped. I think the only way we will solve the child obesity epidemic is knowledge. Why is Health class not as important as the three Rs?? //off my soapbox

“Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.” ~ Chinese Proverb

Crock Pot Applesauce Chicken
Recipe adapted from A Year Of Slow Cooking

Makes 4 servings

Original recipe = 5 PP+ per serving
CB’s changes in red = 4 PP+ per serving

INGREDIENTS
2 frozen chicken breast and 2 thighs (I used 4 chicken breasts)
1-1/2 cups of applesauce (I used Trader Joe’s unsweetened applesauce)
1 tbsp dried onion flakes (I used 1/2 medium onion, chopped finely)
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar*
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, optional (I like a little kick so I added 1/8 tsp instead)

* If you don’t have apple cider vinegar, you can use white vinegar instead. I prefer the apple cider vinegar for that little extra boost of flavor though.

1. Place frozen chicken into your crockpot.
2. In a bowl, mix the applesauce, dried onion vinegar, garlic, and spices together. Pour on top of the chicken. [CB’S NOTES: If you use raw onion like I did, add it to the crockpot with the chicken instead of combining with the applesauce mixture.]
4. Cover and cook on low for 5-7 hours or on high for 3-4. [CB’S NOTES: I cooked on low for 7 hours.]

I served with Parmesan and Basil Whole Wheat Orzo. (Not included in points)

Enjoy!

Husband rating: A+
He loves chicken. And this one was no different. He was a fan. In a BIG way.

Wifey rating: A+
Ok I admit it. I was pretty skeptical of this one but I figured since I had all the ingredients and no store trip was necessary, I’d give it a shot. Lemme tell ya! I’ll eat my words! This was so yummy. The chicken was moist and had so much flavor from the applesauce and a little kick from the onions, garlic and red pepper. I’m definitely making this one again!

8 responses

  1. I love chicken and I love my crockpot even more. I will definitely have to try this, too! Thanks for all the recipe shares. And that basil whole wheat orzo looks YUMMY as well. Where would one get that?

  2. I made this for dinner one night and I have to say that the leftovers made a really tasty sandwich! Also, I missed the step about not mixing the onions with the applesauce, and it turned out fine anyway.

Something to say? Leave a comment

