Mini Chocolate Chip Meringue Cookies (1 PP+)

I have a love-hate relationship with the holidays.

I love the gifts (giving and receiving), the lights, the tree, the ornaments, the colors, the Christmas cards BUT the cookies, cakes, candy is a little rough for someone trying to stay satisfied on 29DPs a day. Lemme give you an example. Peppermint Jojos. It’s a seasonal peppermint oreo at Trader Joe’s that I always buy b/c you can only find them during the holidays. But 1 cookie… Wait for it… 4 POINTS! And who eats just ONE cookie??

Oh and did I mention *I* love to bake. Oh yes. I’m pretty sure that’s why I was fat. Baking is sneaky business. A lick here. A taste there. And then there’s quality assurance. I have to eat 1 or 2 or 3 of what I bake just to make sure it’s safe. Right fellow bakers??

So when I saw a 1 POINT cookie on WW home page this morning, I knew what I was baking tonight.

Mini Chocolate Chip Meringue Cookies
Recipe adapted from Weight Watcher Recipes

Original recipe = 24 cookies | 1 PP+ per serving
CB’s changes in red = 34 cookies | 1 PP+ per serving

INGREDIENTS
4 large egg whites
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips, semi-sweet
1/2 tsp vanilla extract (I used 1/2 tsp vanilla bean paste instead)

1. Preheat oven to 200F.
2. Spray baking sheet with non-cooking spray coat and lightly dust with flour and shake off excess.
3. In a stand mixer fitted with a whisk or a large mixing bowl with hand mixer, beat egg whites until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar and continue to beat until stiff, glossy peaks form.
4. Fold in chocolate chips and vanilla extract.
5. Drop mixture by heaping tablespoons onto prepared baking sheet about 1 inch apart, making 24 cookies. [CB’S NOTES: I filled piping bag with batter fitted with Magic Tip 7ST or favorite large star piping tip. Pipe onto baking sheet. I got 34 cookies but that did not seem to change the point value per serving.]
6. Bake until lightly golden, about 1 hour. [CB’S NOTES: Mine took 2 hours!]
7. Turn oven off and let cookies sit in oven for 1 hour or overnight.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: A
He’s not a big marshmallow fan but he did eat more than 1 cookie. :)

Wifey rating: A
This reminded me of a marshmallow cloud of deliciousness with a little chocolate surprise with every bite. Enough said. (Updated 12/16/11: I realized a day later that the longer you let them sit, the more crispy they get. Just FYI.)

3 responses

  1. Great recipe! Thank you. I used parchment paper instead of cooking spray, it worked really well. Those peppermint JoJos really are dangerous, its a good thing they are only out once a year :)

Something to say? Leave a comment

