Crock Pot Creme Brulee (12 WW+)

I usually don’t start my blog post with a picture.

But THIS Crock Pot Wednesday picture says it all.

Has anyone invented taste-o-vision yet?

Because you all HAVE TO try this one. Open wide! What did I tell ya? Wait! Didn’t your mama teach you never to talk with your mouth full? lol

I found this recipe on one of my favorite Crock Pot blogs. Creme brulee you say? In a crock pot? SIGN ME UP! It’s one of my ALL-TIME favorite desserts. If I’m at a restaurant, I do the wiggle to make room for creme brulee. But when I went to calculate the points, I gasped at 16 WW+ PER serving.

Remember? I only get 29DPs per day. That’s more than half my points. No bueno! So I decrease the portion size, made a few substitutions and BAM! (channeling my inner Emeril!) it’s creamy, yummy and more manageable pointwise without sacrificing the taste.

BOOYAH. <– That's slang for "exclamation of joy" according to the Urban dictionary.

Mmmm… Pure joy. Don’t bother me. I’m eating.

Crock Pot Creme Brulee
Recipe adapted from A Year Of Slow Cooking

Makes 5 servings

Original recipe = 12 WW+ per serving
CB’s changes in red = 9 WW+ per serving

INGREDIENTS
2 cups heavy cream (I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup half-and-half)
5 egg yolks
1/2 cup baker’s sugar*
1 Tbsp good vanilla
1/4 cup raw sugar, topping (I used 5 tsp Splenda brown sugar)

* If you can’t find Baker’s Sugar (superfine sugar), you can use granulated sugar pulsed a few times in a coffee grinder OR you could also just substitute straight granulated sugar but Baker’s Sugar (superfine sugar) will dissolve in the mixture better.

1. Place 5 dessert ramekins inside the crock pot. Using a cup or pitcher, pour water around the edges so there is water 1/2 – 3/4 of the way up the sides of the ramekins. If they start to float, push them down so you can fill the water to the correct amount.
2. In a medium bowl with a whisk, whip the 5 egg yolks. [CB’S NOTES: Instead of a medium bowl, I mixed all the ingredients in a 4-cup Pyrex measuring cup so that it was easy to pour the mixture into the ramekins later.]
3. Slowly add the cream and baker’s sugar. Then add the vanilla extract.
4. Pour mixture into each ramekin and carefully lower into the crock pot without getting any water in it.
5. Cover and cook on high for 2-3 hours. Check after an hour. Custard should be set with the center still a bit jiggly. [CB’S NOTES: Mine took 2 hours.]
6. Remove the lid (be careful not to get any condensation on the ramekins). Use oven gloves and VERY carefully remove each ramekin. (If you have laminate countertops, you might want to put them on a wire cooling rack before you put it on your counter top.)
7. Let cool completely on counter to room temperature.
8. Chill in the refrigerator for 2-3 hours. [CB’S NOTES: If your ramekins will be sitting in the refrigerator longer than chill time, then I recommend you cover with saran wrap to minimize condensation. They can keep for up to 3 days.]
9. Before serving, sprinkle each ramekin evenly with 1 tsp sugar.
10. Using a creme brulee torch, caramelize the sugar OR put ramekins in the oven on the broil setting. Keep an eye on them! They burn fast!

Serve with fruit (zero points!) for a great complement!

Enjoy!

Husband rating: A
He likes creme brulee but he’s not a freak like me. He even asked me if I should be eating this b/c I’m on WW. HA! Little does he know…

Wifey rating: A+
I bet if you didn’t tell anyone about the low point changes, they wouldn’t even know! This was AH-MAZING! I’m sitting here fighting the urge to eat the other ramekins. *willpower willpower*

Something to say? Leave a comment

