The BEST Low Point Chocolate Chip Cookies EVER!

I am on a HUGE cookie baking obsession right now. I blame Santa Claus. I’m doing trial runs so that when the BIG GUY comes, he’ll get the best cookies I can bake and maybe he’ll feel EXTRA generous when he comes to visit and fills my stocking.

I’m told Santa is a sucker for chocolate chip cookies. My fireplace mantel gnome told me. I think he’s really Santa’s elf in disguise. And if you’re craving chocolate chip cookies, look no further. I’ve found them. Soft and chewy chocolate chip deliciousness without any guilt. Just the way I like them. You’re welcome.

Hmmm… Now that I think about it. I better make sure an iPad 2 can fit in my stocking. I might have to hang my pillowcase instead. *wink wink*

Next up! Snickerdoodles. Oh baby…


The BEST Low Point Chocolate Chip Cookies EVER!
Recipe adapted from Skinny Taste

Original recipe = 24 cookies | 5 WW+ per 2 cookies
CB’s changes in red = 16 cookies | 3 WW+ per 1 cookie

INGREDIENTS
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp butter, melted (I used unsalted butter)
1 egg white
2 tbsp apple sauce (I used unsweetened applesauce)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour*
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt (I used kosher salt)
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

* I bought my Bob’s Red Mill whole wheat pastry flour from my grocery store, but I’ve also seen it at Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods and Bristol Farms.

1. Preheat oven to 350F.
2. Line two cookie sheets with Silpat or foil and lightly spray with cooking spray.
3. In a large bowl, sift flours, baking soda and salt.
4. In a stand mixer, fitted with a flat beater or in a separate bowl with hand mixer, whisk the sugars, butter, egg white, applesauce and vanilla together until light and fluffy.
5. Slowly dry ingredients into the wet ingredients in two additions until the batter is very well blended.
6. Fold in chocolate chips.
7. Drop by level spoonfuls about 1 inch apart onto baking sheets. (I used a leveled tablespoon which is probably why my cookies were bigger than the original recipe.)
8. Bake 8 – 10 minutes. (I baked for 10 minutes.) Remove from the oven, and let them stand 5 minutes before removing the cookies from the pans to cool on wire racks.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: A+
He said these are the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever made. I didn’t even tell him these were low fat and he’ll never find out. It will be our little secret ;)

Wifey rating: A+++++
I can not give these cookies enough (+). These were so FRIGGIN’ delicious. Soft, warm and chewy. The way a cookie should be. Yummy! Just make sure that you have someone to share them with so you don’t eat them all yourself! HA! Next time I might substitute with Splenda brown sugar to see if it changes the taste to lower the points.

Other rating: A+
Husband brought them to department meeting and everyone raved about them. They had no idea it was a low fat cookie either. He said his colleagues were even taking some home for their kids. Needless to say, there were none left by the end of the meeting!

2 responses

  1. I made these today! I Substituted pastry flower with unsweetened coconut.
    I also used stevia instead of sugar.
    DELICIOUS!!!
    Thank you!
    Oh I also added a tablespoon of flaxseed and 2 tablespoons of pb2.
    And I used an egg instead of egg white. :-)
    Made 12 cookies
    3 points each

Something to say? Leave a comment

