Chicken Tortilla Pie (12 WW+)

The question I get asked the most via email is… (Why is everyone so shy about leaving a comment?? Just FYI. I love getting comments. *wink wink*)

How do you keep yourself motivated?

Ah! The million dollar question. Personally. I think motivation is over-rated. It’s great when you have it! But when you don’t, you need something else to keep in case of emergencies. Determination is the ace in my pocket. Along with an amazing amount of support. Who says you have to do it all by yourself? It doesn’t have to be necessarily the ones you think will give it to you either. Friends and family are great but sometimes they just don’t understand. Don’t be so hard on them. How can they? Be proactive. Find your own support. Heck you can even email me! (I will try to email back in a reasonable amount of time…)

Actually I’ve been thinking of making the official See Cupcake Run Facebook page. Any readers think that would be helpful?

My husband is my #1 fan. Love that man. I also have my 2 brothers that give me “Atta girl” sporadically via text messages. But the ones I rely on the most are the inspiring ladies that I have met on the WW discussion board. THEY GET IT. And I lay it all out for them. They’ve seen me write about double fisting cupcakes. They’ve listen to me whine about losing my mojo. They know what “going in the red” means and remind me it’s just one day. They understand my excitement when I finally went from obese (I hate that word!) to overweight BMI. They empathize at my tears when I gain weight. They give me the tough love when I want to quit.

Bottom line.

Support holds me accountable and my determination helps me follow through.

Oh and a good pie recipe doesn’t hurt too.

Chicken Tortilla Pie
Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart

Makes 4 serving

Original recipe = 13 WW+/serving
CB’s changes in red = 12 WW+/serving

INGREDIENTS
12 corn tortillas (6-inch), toasted* (I used Mission yellow corn tortillas)
2 cups cooked, shredded dark-meat chicken (I used Trader Joe’s precooked chicken breast strips instead)
1 can (4 ounces) chopped green chiles
1-1/2 cups Green or Red Salsa (I used La Victoria salsa verde)
1 cup sour cream (I used 6oz Fage 0% greek yogurt instead)
1-1/2 cups (6 ounces) Monterey Jack cheese, shredded (I used Kraft 2% milk Mexican blend instead)

* I toasted the tortillas in a skillet over a high flame on both sides or another way is to hold the tortilla over an open gas flame (just be careful!) with some tongs.

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2. In an 8-inch square baking dish, layer 4 tortillas on the bottom of the dish. Then add 1 cup chicken, 1/2 of the chiles, 1/2 cup salsa, 1/3 cup sour cream, and 1/2 cup cheese.
3. Repeat layer again.
4. Top with remaining tortillas, salsa, sour cream, and cheese.
5. Bake until top is browned and bubbling, 30 to 40 minutes.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: A+
He loves Mexican food. So this was sure to be a winner. And it was.

Wifey rating: A+
The portion size is nice and big but if you want to reduce the points you can change the serving size and still be satisfied. Even though the original recipe calls for dark meat (yum!) I think the chicken breast was still very yummy. Either way you can’t go wrong with some hot melty cheese.

10 responses

  1. I just had a chance to catch up on your blog- its been a couple weeks since I’ve had time to relax and read my favorites! Anyways, I just wanted to say that I am SO PROUD of you!! You look amazing and you’re really an inspiration! In fact, I started Insanity this week- and it’s H-A-R-D. But can I tell you a secret? Every time I feel like I want to collapse and give up, I think of you- and then I push myself to go just a little bit further. So, thanks for being so awesome! :)

  2. Just discovered your blog(s) and am enjoying reading your posts and looking at your delicious recipes. I too am a cupcakeaholic and baking obsessed freak. :) I have also done WW and have not done in recently like I should be doing. TRYING hard to get back the motivation to do it and stick with it!! I would love to be out of the “obese” category too. UGH. 50lbs would be the most amazing miracle ever!! So congrats and I hope I can find motivation like you have! I have also been super busy and haven’t updated my blog in awhile, but I’m working on it!! Life is a B$*ch sometimes, but I still love her.

      • Hi Cathy! Thanks for all your sweet compliments! Trust me. I know how hard WW is when you love to bake but I decided one day that my health was more important and STOPPED cold turkey. I’ve recently gotten back into it but I didn’t bake for 7 months UNLESS there was a reason (party, gift, Husband’s meeting etc) so I knew that they would be out of the house. I hope you get back into blogging too. I think that’s also another reason that I’m so determined. I feel like my readers are counting on me. Accountability is an amazing source of inspiration.

        • Yea that is tough/rough/sad all in one but you are right, health is more important. The really hard part is having a husband who loves sweets and kids who loves sweets and love to bake as well! It will be tough, but I must do it! Thank you!

          • Also don’t forget that there ARE point friendly desserts out there. If you want a good one, try the chocolate chip cookies on my blog. OH EM GEE! So yummy and not too bad point wise if you can limit it to 1 or 2. Keep me updated on your progress! Welcome back to WW :)

Something to say? Leave a comment

