Crock Pot Chicken Cordon Bleu (10 WW+)

Gimme a C
Gimme a R
Gimme an O
Gimme a C
Gimme a K
Gimme a P-O-T!

WHAT’S THAT SPELL??

Wednesday night is Zumba night so my crock pot is a lifesaver or Husband would be eating PB&J sandwiches for dinner every Wednesday night. (No, I’m not joking. That’s the only thing he knows how to make.) Needless to say he loves Crock Pot night too.

Since I’m still feeling kinda blah about my last weigh-in, I knew I needed to gather my thoughts and not get complacent. That’s my usual MO when I diet. I wasn’t about to fall in that trap again. So I put the take out menu back that had somehow appeared in my hands and started browsing crock pot recipes…

SIDE NOTE: Does anyone else give themselves mini pep talks about food? *crickets* Ok so just me then… lol

PS- Don’t forget to take the toothpicks out BEFORE you eat it. Just trust me.

Crock Pot Chicken Cordon Bleu
Recipe from WW boards

Makes 4 servings

CB’s change in red= 10 WW+/serving*

INGREDIENTS
1-1/2 to 2 lbs chicken breast, pounded thin (I used 4 frozen chicken breasts, thawed)
4 pieces of ham (I used 8 pieces Canadian bacon**)
4 slices of Swiss or mozzarella cheese (I used LF swiss)
1 can any cream soup (I used cream of mushroom)
1/4 cup milk (I used 2% milk)

* The points per serving may be lower since you aren’t eating all the cream of mushroom sauce. At least I didn’t.
** Check the nutritional information if you choose to use Canadian bacon. Depending on how thin/thick it is cut, it will be different points from mine.

1. Layer ham and cheese on each chicken breast. Roll up and secure with toothpicks.
2. Place chicken in the crockpot.
3. Mix soup with the milk; pour over top of chicken.
4. Cover and cook on low for 4 hours or until chicken is no longer pink.
5. Serve over noodles or rice with the sauce it makes. (Points do not include noodles or rice.)

I served with green bean and brown rice.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: A+
He raved about this one and called dibs on the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. He also mentioned that this needs to go in the dinner rotation. I call that a winner.

Wifey rating: A
If you are craving a cordon bleu this will satisfy your craving without the extra calories BUT I will admit I missed the bread crumbs and I REALLY wanted more cheese. Then again, that’s not the point (no pun intended) right? lol

9 responses

    • I think so! Next time I make this recipe I’m definitely going to try LF cream of mushroom soup b/c I know that will lower the points and hopefully not change the taste. The green beans are frozen! I throw them in a saucepan with a little olive oil, saute until thawed and all water evaporates, then toss with cooked brown rice. HTH!

  1. Just a small tip I’ve picked up along the way: You may want to try spaghetti noodles instead of toothpicks. You may need to use a toothpick to get through the chicken, but the spaghetti noodle will hold the chicken together, and cook too, so you won’t need to worry about forgetting to take it out!

    It sounds tasty though, even though doing the paleo thing I can’t have it. :)

    • What a fun tip! I’m totally going to try that next time. Thanks Julie! Why isn’t this recipe on paleo? Sorry I’m ignorant about the diet’s specifics.

Something to say? Leave a comment

