Chicken Cilantro Wonton Soup (7 WW+)

The weather is crazy in California right now.

First it’s warm, then it’s cold, then it’s raining, then it’s hot (Hello Mother Nature?? It’s December!) and now it’s cold AND windy. The wind is driving my allergies crazy. I can’t stop sneezing! Achoooo! On cold+windy days like today, all I crave is soup. Warm, soothing, comforting soup.

Of course I didn’t think of it until after I got home from work. Since my tastebuds were focused on soup nothing else would do. Then I remembered buying a frozen bag of chicken cilantro wontons from Trader Joes last weekend. Someone on the WW board had recommended them as being really point friendly. It’s true! 4 wontons=1 point!

*light bulb*

Wonton soup! Just like my favorite Thai restaurant makes it. Ok. Maybe not exactly but I thought I could come close. Mmmm… Now I want Pad Thai.

Chicken Cilantro Wonton Soup
Recipe adapted from Trader Joes

Makes 2 servings

CB’s changes in red = 7 WW+/serving

INGREDIENTS
1 bag Trader Joes chicken cilantro mini wontons
4 cups beef or chicken broth* (I used FF beef broth)
10 shrimp, raw or frozen thawed

* You may not use all the broth.

1. Add beef broth to medium pot and bring to a boil.
2. Add shrimp and cook for 1 minute.
3. Add frozen wontons and cook everything for an additional 2-3 minutes until wontons are warmed through.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: A+
He was surprised at how fast and filling this was. Even though he’s not a huge fan of shrimp he really liked the whole thing! He did suggest that next time I need to add a veggie.

Wifey rating: A+
This recipe is so easy peasy! I love shrimp so this was awesome for me. I agree about adding a veggie. If I had had some cabbage I would have cut some up and added it to the soup. Maybe some green onions too. Next time! You could even make this as a side dish to a main meal if you want to split it up into smaller servings for less points.

4 responses

  1. Hi CB: Just tried this recipe tonight and MB (my boyfriend) and I both LOVED it. I didn’t have any shrimp, but did add baby bok choy. I also added some Kikkoman Memmi Soup Base to add additional flavor to the beef broth only adds 1 P+ per serving. Thanks for sharing these – recipes! I’m totally sharing this to your credit!!!!

Something to say? Leave a comment

