Crock Pot Honey Garlic Chicken (5 WW+)

I know. I know. It’s been a while since the last Crock Pot Wednesday. Forgive me? These last few weeks have been KA-RAZY with all the family and friend obligations. Don’t get me wrong! I’m not complaining. I love them but family and friends are big TIME SUCKERS away from my kitchen. LOL.

*waving at Cousin Amanda b/c I know she reads my blog*

But I was determined that I wasn’t going to miss another Crock Pot Wednesday so even though I was a few minutes late to work this morning, I made it happen! When I came home from work, the aromas were so yummy that my stomach started growling almost immediately. Usually my dog, Dorra, is waiting for me at the top of the stairs but this time I found her staring intently at the kitchen counter in the direction of the crock pot.

I think Dorra missed Crock Pot Wednesday too!

I wish I could have gotten a picture. It was the cutest thing ever.

Crock Pot Honey Garlic Chicken
Recipe adapted from A Year Of Slow Cooking

Makes 6 servings

CB’s changes in red = 5 WW+/serving*

* Since you really don’t eat all the marinade I assume the points per serving would actually be lower, but the WW recipe builder doesn’t really let me make that difference when calculating points. Just FYI. If anyone knows a better way, I’m all ears!

INGREDIENTS
1-1/2 to 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs (I used 3 frozen chicken breasts)
3 garlic cloves, smashed and chopped
1 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 cup soy sauce (I used reduced sodium Kikkoman soy sauce)
1/2 cup ketchup (I used reduced sugar Heinz ketchup)
1/3 cup honey

1. Spray inside of crockpot with PAM or use crockpot liner for easy clean up.
2. Put chicken into the bottom of your crock pot.
3. In a small bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients, then pour evenly over the top.
4. Cook on low for 6 hours or high for 3-4 hours. (I cooked on low for 6 hours)

I served with brown rice and steamed broccoli (not included in points)

Enjoy!

Husband rating: A
It wasn’t his favorite marinade (he said) although he did eat his whole plate so I think he liked it. ;)

Wifey rating: A/A-
I liked the flavor of the marinade (it reminded me of a sweet&sour sauce) but the chicken breast was a little dry for me. I think if I make this again I’ll reduce the cooking time to 4 or 5 hours instead of 6. Maybe I’ll use thigh meat like the original recipe b/c dark meat is juicier and moister IMO.

6 responses

  1. Looks good! Will definetly try this!! Thanks!! Your blog is just a one stop shop with exercise, weight watchers, running and recipe info!!! Love it!

  2. I don’t know if this is the spot or if you talked about this elsewhere, but is it about right to figure 1 activity point per mile of running. On average it is 100 or so. I run about 11 minute miles….help!

    • Hi Toni, I believe on average you burn about 100 cals PER mile. It’s a rough estimate b/c obviously everyone is different. I recommend if you will be continuing running and doing WW to invest in a heart rate monitor (with chest strap). I feel like my HRM keeps my intensity bias out of the equation. I use 80 cals burned = 1 AP. Some ppl use 100 cals burned =1 AP to be more conservative but 80 works for me. And if I get to eat more, I will! I’ve been working on a HRM post per a suggestion from another reader so I’ll get it up ASAP for more info. HTH!

Something to say? Leave a comment

