Things I’ve learned on this journey of mine

I think I’ve mentioned that I’m an WW online member. I don’t go to meetings. Nothing against meetings! I’m sure they are wonderful in the right circumstances. But online works for me for several reasons.

1. I’m a computer nerd. I live on my computer.
2. Weight Watchers has a very active online community so I feel like I have a meeting everyday rather than 1x a week.
3. I hate driving. If I ever won the lottery, I’d hire a chauffeur.

There are WW leaders, current WW members and non-WW members that are on the discussion boards. As always in an online forum, I take things with a grain of salt. As you should too. In 8 months I’ve learned a lot from the discussion boards. So I decided to write them in a blog post for my readers. It’s also a good reminder for me too.

* Great article for anyone starting the Points Plus plan — > First Steps to Success on PP+
* 3500 cals = 1 lb of fat. If you gained 4lbs one week, ask yourself if you REALLY ate
14,000 cals. You probably didn’t. Then there must be other factors involved. Maybe excess sodium, TOM, undigested food, water retention… See next.
* Here is a must read article for anyone trying to lose weight regardless of their diet lifestyle plan –> Why The Scale Lies.
* Take measurements. Take progress pictures. The scale is not your only tool.
* Healthy weight loss is 0.5-2 lbs / week. Slow and steady wins the race.
* “Waaahhh I only lost .5 lbs this week!” There is no “only” with weight loss. Would you rather it be a gain? I didn’t think so!
* “No loss is too small. No gain is irreversible.”
* Do not compare your stats to anyone else. Comparison is the thief of joy. Be inspired but remember that we are all on different weight loss journeys.
* Fruit is 0 points, but it doesn’t mean it has 0 calories.
* WW recommends 5 servings of fruits AND vegetables per day. Did you know a banana could be 2 servings? Size does matter! Know your serving size!
* Eat to satisfaction does not mean eat until you are stuffed.
* If you feel hungry, drink some water first. You might be mistaking your hunger pain for thirst.
* Your age, how much you have to lose, genetics, environment are all factors in trying to lose weight.
* “Order first when dining out—there will be less temptation from hearing what others order.” ~Christina, WW success story
* Why am I gaining weight with exercise?
* Milk Matters
* Weekly points are NOT extra points. They are part of the plan. Do not feel guilty eating them.
* Wendie can help you if you reach a plateau or need some point spread guidance. Read more (here) and (here)
* Add activity to your life but be honest if you are eating your APs. Do you really need to eat that cookie if you earn APs for laundry? I never count APs for anything unless I put my sports bra on. But that’s just me.
* There is no exercise you can do to spot reduce (short of surgery aka liposuction). I guess I’ll lose my stubborn thigh fat when it’s good and ready.
* How are you calculating your APs? I use my Heart Rate Monitor because I feel like it takes my intensity bias out of the equation. I use 80 cals burned = 1 AP. This is not officially endorsed by WW but it works for me. If you don’t have a HRM, use the activity calculator using duration of time and intensity. To determine intensity: LOW-You can talk or sing; your breathing is regular, MODERATE-You can talk, but you can’t sing. You breathe often and deeply, HIGH-You can talk briefly, but you can’t sing. You breathe rapidly and deeply. I think the activity calculator is more accurate that the activity database search but I prefer a HRM over both of them.
* Water, water, water!!
* Is your goal realistic? Consult your dr to help you answer that question.
* Eat real food. This is not a diet. This is a lifestyle change. Are you going to eat salads for the rest of your life?
* Starvation mode is a myth. Weight Watchers says so.
* Eating more to lose weight. –> Myth? I don’t know but I eat all my DPs and all my WPs and I’m happy with my losses.
* If you have the nutritional information available, use your calculator to determine the points. The food search is mostly generic points and works in a pinch but a point off here and there can add up.
* You lose weight in the kitchen. You get fit at the gym. You can’t run off a bad diet. Trust me. I’ve tried!
* Gains are a natural part of weight loss. Our bodies are not simple. They are complex machines. Do not let it discourage you. At the time of writing this post, I’ve had 31 losses, 1 maintain and 6 gains. But do you see the gains in my picture? As long as the trend is down, you will reach your goal.
* “Muscle weighs more than fat.” Well sorta. Ok not really. 1 lb of muscle = 1 lb of fat. But muscle is more dense. Confused now? If you are a visual learner like me, check out THIS link.
* Forgive yourself. We’re human. We make mistakes. What defines your weight loss journey is what you do next.
* Actions not excuses.
* Motivation is overrated. Don’t forget there’s also determination.
* Take it one day at a time. One meal at a time. Time is on your side.
* Finish Last > Did Not Finish > Did Not Start
* Strive for perseverance not perfection.
* You only fail if you quit.

I will continue to add to my list since I’m still on my weight loss journey. I know there is still so much to learn.

If you have anything you want to add to my list, please email me.

6 responses

  1. I just wanted to say congratulations on all the success you have worked so hard to achieve! You have absolutely inspired me to get back into the WW groove. That post from the other day, with the quote about how next year, I would wish I had started today…it spoke to me! Thank you for that!! I actually tracked my points today. It wasn’t a perfect day, but it’s a start. Keep feeling good!!

    • Hi Pamela! I’m so glad that my last MM poster spoke to you! And it’s so true. Every time I think about quitting or taking a break, I think to myself that time will eventually pass and when it does, will I regret how I spent the time? Congrats for tracking your points. It’s all those small steps that add up to big losses! Please keep me updated on your progress :) :) :)

  2. Hey Clara!

    I LOVE your blog. I may not comment often but I read every one of your posts:) You are very inspiring!

    I think that you use a heart rate monitor, right? Can you tell me about yours? Maybe do a special blog post and explain it? I am in the market for one. But I want one that is simple to use. Thanks!

    • Hi Natalie! Thanks for all your sweet compliments and the great idea! I should totally do a post on my heart rate monitor. I admit I’m slightly obsessed with mine! I’ll work on that post asap. :)

    • Hi Toni! Thank you for your sweet compliments. I enjoyed putting this list together. Not only for my readers, but it’s a good reminder for myself how much I’ve learned too. You should check out the message boards! I’m “ctozzy” if you wanna say HI!

Something to say? Leave a comment

