Children’s Hospital Charity 5K

Today was my 5th 5K.

There were so many people there. Even camera crews. It wasn’t an official 5K so there were no timing chips or running bibs. Just runners, walkers, cyclists and roller bladers in the community coming together to raise money for The Children’s Hospital of Long Beach.

Why was I SO nervous then?

Children's Hospital Charity 5K

You’d be too if you hadn’t run in 3 weeks. I am still recovering from my upper respiratory infection (URI) and I can definitely feel a difference in my overall endurance. Breathing is so important to running (in my opinion) and since my breathing is all out of whack I wasn’t sure what to expect from this 5K. I had pretty much come to terms with the fact that I might have to even walk. Although it didn’t make me happy to admit it. And ultimately that’s what I did around the 2 mile mark. I walked for about 1/4 mile to catch my breath. At that moment I felt defeated.

Crossing the finish line 36:45

But even though my time isn’t a new personal record, I’m still proud of myself for getting back out there. I needed it. I needed to run again. To really reach deep down inside and ask myself if this was something I wanted to continue. When I crossed the finish line, I knew what I was gonna do. I didn’t wanna stop running 5Ks! I love the adrenaline I feel when I cross the finish line. If that means going back to Couch To 5K to build up my endurance again, so be it!

According to my count down, my next 5K is in 21 days. I better figure out a training schedule and… SOOON!

Snuggles from Dorra

Getting snuggles from my #1 fan (besides my husband) after my run helped too. ♥

Distance: 3.17 miles
Pace: 11:49/mile

Something to say? Leave a comment

