Running just to run

Brooks running shoes and turtle charm

It’s been so long since my last run I had to check a calendar to be sure. I think it’s been 3 weeks. Yikes! I’m still recovering from my Upper Respiratory Infection and getting back into the running groove is slow.

Slow being the operative word.

I had a clear 3 mile route mapped out before I started but I was only able to run half the distance. I don’t want to give myself any excuses but I think my upper respiratory infection is affecting my breathing and I got tired way faster than I should have.

My run was pretty disappointing since I’m use to running 3+ miles. It started filling my mind with doubt.

At what point do tell yourself that you gave it your best try and it’s time to accept that maybe running isn’t your thing? The thing is I’m competitive by nature so I LOVE running 5Ks but lately I’m struggling to get out there and run on my own. I don’t struggle this much with Zumba.

Any advice appreciated.

Distance: 1.5 miles
Walk pace: N/A
Run pace: N/A

5 responses

  1. Don’t make any judgements today, when you’re still not 100% better. Even though you might be “over” your respiratory infection, its going to take a bit of time to get back to your pre-sickness level. Just give it some time and be patient! It’s completely normal to not have the desire to run when your body is less than healthy!

  2. After 3 weeks it’s not surprising that your body needs to get back into shape. It might be a good idea to go back and earlier portion of the Couch to 5K system. Alternate walking and running. You just need to have your body remember it all…

    • Hello Jessica, I guess I was in denial that it only took 3 weeks to reduce my endurance so much. I think you’re right. I’ve decided to go back to C25K and start over at a place I’m comfortable at. Probably W5D1. Looks like my body is telling me that I need to start again. There’s no shame in repeating right?

Something to say? Leave a comment

