Crock Pot Cilantro Lime Chicken (6 WW+)

Yay for Crock Pot night!

I love coming home after a long day of work and the house smells like dinner. I knew this recipe was going to be a good one b/c when I walked into the kitchen my dog, Andorra, was sitting in there transfixed on the crock pot! HA HA!

Now all I have to do to make Wednesday nights perfect is train my husband not to leave his keys in the door and his socks on the floor and it would be easy peasy lemon squeezy. lol

Crock Pot Cilantro Lime Chicken (Tacos)
Recipe adapted from allrecipes.com

Makes 6 servings

Original recipe = 6 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 3 WW+ points/serving

INGREDIENTS
1 (16 ounce) jar salsa (I used Pace Picante mild)
1 (1.25 ounce) dry taco seasoning mix (I used McCormicks)
1 lime, juiced (I also added the lime zest for more flavor)
3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro (I used A LOT more!)
3 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breasts (I used 3 chicken breasts instead)

Toppings (not included in points)
6 taco shells
shredded cheese
lettuce
salsa
sour cream (I used Fage 0% Greek yogurt instead)
guacamole (I used Trader Joe’s Guacamole Hummus instead)

1. Spray crock pot with cooking spray or line with crock pot liner. Add the chicken breasts. (I put chicken breasts in frozen.)
2. In a bowl, combine salsa, taco seasoning, lime juice (and zest) and cilantro. Mix well. Pour over chicken breasts to coat.
3. Cover and cook on high until the chicken is very tender about 4-5 hours or on low for 8-10 hours. (I cooked on low for 8 hours.)
3. Shred chicken with 2 forks before serving.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He ate 4 tacos before I finished one! And yes he still left his socks on the floor.

Wifey rating: 5/5
This recipe was so easy and really delicious. Even though I only used 3 chicken breasts vs 3 lbs (about 6 chicken breasts) I’m glad I didn’t reduce the other ingredients. The lime and cilantro were so good together. I can’t wait to use the leftovers tomorrow for some nachos!

Something to say? Leave a comment

