Pumpkin Muffins (2 WW+)

I haven’t regretted much during my weight loss journey.

But I do miss baking. I use to bake every week. There was never a time during the week that we didn’t have cupcakes, cookies, cake, SOMETHING sweet in our house. But lemme tell ya! Those little bites here. Those little licks there. THEY ADD UP! So now I don’t bake as often.

But this time of year is really hard b/c Fall just screams baking and pumpkin to me.

You can imagine my delight to find this bad boy recipe. I literally jumped for joy.

What’s even better. They don’t taste like 2 Points. They are so much more sinful than that. Shhhhh! Don’t tell. It will be our little secret.

Pumpkin Muffins
Recipe from WW boards

Makes 24 muffins

Original recipe = 2 WW+ points/serving*

* Your points/serving may vary depending on what brand cake mix you use.

INGREDIENTS
Box of spice cake mix (I used Betty Crocker Spice Cake)
1 can (15oz) pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling)
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
cinnamon, garnish

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line cupcake pan with liners.
2. Mix together all ingredients. Fill each tin about 2/3 full. Sprinkle some cinnamon on top (optional).
3. Bake for about 20-22 minutes.
4. Let cool before serving.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He loved them!

Wifey rating: 5/5
Omg. These were melt in your mouth moist and delicious. Ok I admit it. I ate 2 in about 5 seconds but don’t worry! I froze the rest of them for another time. Maybe breakfast tomorrow? They stuck to the cupcake liner a little so next time I might just spray the cupcake pan with cooking spray and forego the cupcake liners.

10 responses

  1. I’ve never tried applesauce, though I hear of that substitution a lot. I also have to say I LOVE YOUR BLOG(S). You are SUCH an inspiration!! In fact, I re-joined WW last month and a big part of that was seeing YOUR success, so THANKS!

  2. I just recommitted to WW again … I’ve done it once before, had some success but thought I could do it “on my own” and gained back 1/2 of what I had lost (and I was nowhere near done losing when I went solo!). I found this blog through your cupcake blog (I’m the cupcake baker in my family too – wonder how I ended up at WW in the first place, LOL!).

    At our meeting last week, we discussed this recipe. My first WW leader gave us this recipe – but made as a minimuffin w/mini-chocolate chips. So, take the cake mix, pumpkin, 1/2 c. water, and 6 Tbsp of chocolate chips. They are 1 PP per mini muffin – and you don’t have to add the extra point until you’ve eaten 4, I think.

    I’ve also done the spice cake mix, 1 c. of applesauce, then some craisins & walnuts. They seem to dry out quicker than the pumpkin ones do, but they are tasty.

    And I also made the chococlate cake mix/pumpkin muffins and they are awesome! You don’t taste the pumpkin in those at all. And you can add some peanut butter chips for super awesomeness!!

    Keep up the good work – and I’ll be following you and looking to you for inspiration (on both blogs, LOL!)

    • Hi Kadie! Lovely to meet a fellow WW and cupcake baker :) Thanks for all the cake mix+pumpkin variations! I definitely need to give the chocolate cake+pumpkin one a try. Yum! I wish you much success on your weight loss journey. Please keep me updated!

  3. Hi CB: Knowing how awesome your blog is I was going back through when I came across this (and several other) must try recipes. Since you love comments – I knew I had to let you know how it went. These are – as promised – moist and delicious. As you suggested – I passed on the cupcake liners and sprayed the pan instead – worked great. Unfortunately, I over estimated the size and ended up with 12 (4P+) muffins instead of 24 (2P+) muffins. But for extra indulgence I topped one with 1 tsp of TJs Fleur de Sel Caramel Sauce (1 P+) and 2 T of Lucerne French Vanilla Light Whipped Cream (0 P+). Glorious!

    • Hi Sarah!! I do love me some comments. I’ve been MIA from WW boards so it’s great to hear from you :) How are you?? I definitely need to find that TJ caramel sauce. Oh baby! That’s definitely worth an extra point. :P

Something to say? Leave a comment

