Crock Pot Taco Soup (6 WW+)

I’m bringing sexy… I mean… Crock Pot Wednesday Nights… backkkkkkk!

Are you excited?? I AM!

I think I’ve mentioned I have a slight (Ok! It borders on unhealthy!) obsession with my crock pot before. Now that the nights are getting cooler and the sun is setting sooner, my crock pot is ready to come out of summer hibernation. I’ve spent the last few weeks getting ready for “her” coming out party too. My cooking magazines have dog eared pages, my cookbooks have post-its, my internet has my bookmarks waiting…

Are you ready?

I CAN’T HEAR YOU!!

Crock Pot Taco Soup Chili
Recipe adapted from A Year Of Slow Cooking

Makes 10 servings

CB’s changes in red = 6 WW+ points

INGREDIENTS
2 (15oz) cans of kidney beans (I used black beans instead)
2 (15oz) cans of pinto beans
2 (15oz) cans of corn (I used whole golden corn kernals, no sugar added)
1 (28oz) can of diced tomatoes
1 (14.5oz) can tomatoes and chiles
1 (1oz) packet taco seasoning (I used Lawrys)
1 (1oz) packet ranch dressing dry mix (I used Hidden Valley)
1 lb ground turkey or beef (I used 96/4 ground beef)

Toppings (not included in points)
shredded cheddar cheese
sour cream (I used Fage 0% greek yogurt instead)
Baked Tostitos scoops or Fritos

1. In a large saucepan, brown meat.
2. Drain fat and add the meat to the crockpot. Sprinkle seasoning packets on top of meat.
3. Drain and rinse the both beans before adding to the crockpot.
4. Add the ENTIRE contents of the corn and tomato cans (do not drain). Stir to combine all ingredients.
5. Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours or on high for 4-5 hours. (I cooked on low for 8 hours.)
6. Serve with shredded cheese, dollop of sour cream and chips. (This step is NOT included in points/serving so make adjustments depending on the amount you use.)

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He grew up in a chili house. His mom use to travel a lot for work and she would make huge pots of chili for his dad, his brother and him while she was gone. So he said right away “This isn’t a soup. This is chili!” When I said “Ok, it’s chili”, he was happy to eat it. Actually he ate 2 bowls! No toppings necessary!

Wifey rating: 4+/5
I am a self-proclaimed bean hater. It’s a texture thing. (Same thing with bananas. Blech!) Much to the dismay of my BFF aka Bean Lovah! But I really like this dish. The spices made it taste AH-MAY-ZING! I agree with Husband. I think it’s more of a “chili” than a “soup” but that doesn’t make it any less tasty! Toppings were a must for me. Love the crunch that the Tostitos Baked! Scoops added.

6 responses

  1. What the what? Who doesn’t like bananas????

    This soup/chili looks great! Of course, our cool temps in Denver have turned into mid-80s for the next week, but I’m going to make this on our next cold snap!

Something to say? Leave a comment

