Crock Pot Chicken Parmigiana (12 WW+)

I just bought a new digital 7 quart crock pot from Costco last weekend. It even came with a Little Dipper too!

Why did I buy a new one? I wish I could tell you that my old faithful finally bit the dust but actually I was suckered by the digital one that was on sale at Costco for $40! I couldn’t pass up that deal.

I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT IT!

I’m kinda obsessed with my crock pot. Wednesday night use to be crock pot night at my house. But the last month I’ve been kinda slacking on dinner planning in general so now that school is back in session, it’s time to break out the crock pot again.

There are so many crock pot recipes out there. I have the Fix It And Forget It cookbook, Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker cookbook, Make It Slow Cook It Fast cookbook, not to mention ALL the crock pot recipes on the internet. I love it!

It only took 0.21 seconds for google to find me the recipe for tonight’s dinner.

Dear Google, You had my husband at “chicken parmigiana”.

Crock Pot Chicken Parmigiana
Recipe adapted from A Year Of Slow Cooking

Makes 4 servings

CB’s changes in red = 12 WW+ points

INGREDIENTS
2 (4oz) boneless, skinless chicken breasts, thawed
1/2 cup bread crumbs (I used Ian’s Whole Wheat panko)
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
1/2 tsp Italian Seasoning
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1 tbsp olive oil
1 large egg, beaten
4 slices of mozzarella cheese (I used RF provolone)
favorite jarred marinara sauce (I make my own. Recipe below)
8 oz of whole wheat spaghetti

1. Add 1 tbsp of olive oil to the bottom of your crock pot.
2. In a bowl (large enough to fit your chicken breast), lightly beat the egg.
3. In a separate bowl (large enough to fit your chicken breast), combine the bread crumbs with the seasonings and the Parmesan cheese.
4. Dip the chicken into the egg, then into the bread crumb mixture, coating both sides with crumbs, cheese and seasonings.
5. Place each chicken breast in the bottom of the crock pot.
6. Layer 1-2 slices of mozzarella cheese on top of each chicken breast.
7. Cover the chicken breasts with entire jar of marinara sauce.
8. Cook on low for 6-7 hours or high for 3-4 hours. (I cooked on high for 3 hours.)
9. Serve with your favorite pasta and 1/2 cup marinara sauce. (I served with whole wheat spaghetti.)

Clara’s Marinara Sauce | Makes 8 servings
1 tbsp olive oil
2-3 cloves garlic
2 (14.5oz) canned diced tomatoes
1 (6oz) can tomato paste
1 tsp oregano
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/4 tsp sugar
1/4 cup fresh basil, rough chop, optional

1. In a large saucepan, over medium heat, saute the garlic with the olive oil.
2. Turn heat to low. Add the diced tomatoes, tomato paste, spices and basil. Stir to combine all ingredients. (You could throw this in the blender if you want a less chunky marinara.)
3. Add to crock pot per recipe.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 4/5
He’s a chicken parmigiana FA-REAK so I knew he might be more critical of this meal. He had a lot of good things to say but reading between the lines, it sounds like he misses the “crunch” of the coating.

Wifey rating: 4/5
I agree with husband. Maybe if I make it again I’ll put the sauce in first and then the chicken so that the sauce doesn’t coat the chicken and leave the coating more crisp.

Other rating: 4/5
Little brother agrees with husband.

2 responses

  1. What a great blog and you are a fellow WordPress user! :) I love your site. It is hilarious and you have great recipes. I found your blog because I was trying to see what size crockpot I own. Very random!
    Looking forward to getting some recipes from your site, especially if there are cupcakes involved! ;)

Something to say? Leave a comment

