Crock Pot Steel Cut Oatmeal (6 WW+)

I did not grow up eating breakfast.
I did not grow up eating oatmeal for breakfast.
I do not like oatmeal.
But I WANT to like it!

My skinny SIL eats oatmeal for breakfast every morning so I’m thinking maybe oatmeal is her secret? Hey! It couldn’t hurt to eat it right? So I asked her what kind of oatmeal she eats and she said Coach’s Steel Cut Oats from Costco. I promptly added it to my shopping list. I bought it and it sat in my pantry for a few weeks lonely and neglected.

I think I was afraid. I have no idea what the difference between rolled oats and steel cut oats were. Fear comes from the unknown so I did a little research.

Here’s what I learned.

Rolled oats are literally rolled flat. They are cut like steel cut oats, steamed, placed between two large rollers and pressed into the familiar round, flat shape. Rolled oats can cook more quickly than steel cut oats, but they lose their nutty texture and natural flavor. (via Coach’s Oats website)

Coach’s Steel cut oats are groats cut with rotating steel blades. The groats are toasted to bring the natural sugars to the surface of the oat, then cracked into small pieces. This patented Cracked n’ Toasted™ process means that Coach’s Oats are never mushy, always naturally delicious and cook in just 3 to 5 minutes on a stovetop or in the microwave. (via Coach’s Oats website)

Interesting, no?

While I was googling “steel cut oats” I found this crock pot recipe and I knew I had to try it. I’m kind of obsessed with my crock pot.

Crock Pot Steel Cut Oatmeal
Recipe adapted from Cheeky Kitchen

Makes 6 servings

Original recipe = 6 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 6 WW+ points/serving

INGREDIENTS
4 cups of water
1 cup Coach’s steel cut oats
1/2 cup cranberries (I used craisins instead)
1/2 cup golden raisins (I omitted)
1/4 cup raisins (I omitted)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1-1/2 cup whole milk (I used Silk almond milk)
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 tbsp brown sugar (I used Splenda brown sugar blend)
6 tbsp slivered almonds

1. Spray a crockpot with nonstick cooking spray. (I used a crock pot liner for easy clean up but I still sprayed it with PAM.)
2. Add the water, steel cut oats, cranberries, golden raisins, raisins, cinnamon, milk and salt. Mix to combine.
3. Cover and cook on low overnight for 6-8 hours. (I cooked for 8 hours.)
4. Top each serving with 1 tbsp of brown sugar and slivered almonds right before eating.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
My good little Irish boy grew up with oatmeal so he loved it. He finished his bowl before I finished writing his review.

Wifey rating: 4/5
I loved when I woke up the next morning and the whole house smelled like cinnamon. But here are a few changes I’ll make next time: reduce the amount of milk to 1 cup b/c I want my oatmeal to be thicker and add craisins in the the morning instead of overnight b/c they were a little mushy for my taste.

7 responses

  1. I have never made oatmeal in the crockpot, but I have been wanting to try it. I tend to put my dinners in there before I leave for work. Now I’m dreaming of putting my breakfast in there too! Oh, and thanks for the explaination on the different oats. The hubby and I were just talking about what an “oat groat” is. Now I can tell him.

  2. Super bummed! I put this together last night and doubled the recipe since I have a big family. I used 2 cups of coaches oats, 8 cups of water and 2 cups of milk, plus chia seeds, blueberries, peanut butter, and almonds. Its been cooking for 9 hours now and its still super watery. What did I do wrong?

Something to say? Leave a comment

