Turkey Meatloaf (WW+ 8 points)

My Weekly Menu

I believe that the key to success on ANY diet lifestyle change is consistency.

I know menu planning is huge for keeping me consistent and within my points. I usually plan out my weekly menu on Sunday night. My husband is very supportive and never complains about any “new” recipes I want to cook but there are a few recipes that make the weekly menu rotation practically EVERY week (much to the relief of my husband).

This is one of them.

I remember the first time I made this meatloaf recipe, he loved it so much that he asked me after dinner. “Omg is it our anniversary and I forgot??” LOL. It’s that good. Anniversary dinner good. I didn’t use to be a big meatloaf person. I didn’t grow up with it. But my meat and potatoes Irish boy loves it. And after this recipe, I’m hooked and I know you will be too.

Btw doesn’t my magnetic notepad make you happy for Fall? Mmmm… pumpkin pie.

Turkey Meatloaf
Recipe adapted from Weight Watchers

Makes 4 servings*

Original recipe = 8 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 7 WW+ points/serving

* Original recipe on WW website is 5 servings but I wanted a bigger portions so I re-calculated the points to reflect the change.

INGREDIENTS

For meatloaf
cooking spray
1 Tbsp olive oil
3/4 cup onion, finely chopped (I used 1/4 of a medium onion)
1/4 cup green pepper, finely chopped (I used 1 medium green pepper)
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup low-fat shredded cheddar cheese, sharp
1/4 cup seasoned bread crumbs (I used Ian’s whole wheat panko)
1-1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
1 tsp ketchup (I used Heinz reduced sugar ketchup)
1/2 tsp table salt
1/2 tsp black pepper (I used 1/4 tsp)
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1-1/4 pounds uncooked ground turkey breast (I used 93/7 ground turkey)

For ketchup sauce
1/2 cup ketchup (I used Heinz reduced sugar ketchup)
1 Tbsp unpacked light brown sugar (I used 1/2 Tbsp Splenda Brown Sugar blend)
1 tsp mustard

1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. In a large saucepan, over medium-high heat, heat oil. Add onion, bell pepper and garlic. Sauté for about 3 minutes. Turn off heat and set aside.
3. In a large bowl, combine onion mixture, cheese and next 6 ingredients in a large bowl. Toss to combine. Crumble turkey over onion mixture. Stir until well blended.
4. Pack meat mixture into an 8 x 4-inch loaf pan coated with cooking spray. Bake for about 35-40 minutes. (I used 2 mini loaf pans to form the shape, then turn them out onto a baking sheet and baked for 30 minutes. Learn that trick from my bff, Nikki. It helps the excess liquid drain. So smart!)
5. Combine ketchup, brown sugar and mustard in a small bowl. Mix well.
6. Spread ketchup mixture over meatloaf and bake an additional 5 minutes.
7. Remove meatloaf from pan. Cut into slices and serve.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He always gets this goofy smile when he eats the first bite of meatloaf. It’s really the main reason why I make it all the time. I just love that smile.

Wifey rating: 5/5
It’s not on the regular rotation for nothing. So moist, flavorful and filling. But most important… Yummy!

Something to say? Leave a comment

