Kevin Cook Spirit 5K

Kevin Cook Spirit 5K 33:17

Today was my 4th 5K.

I have to admit when I woke up at 630am this morning, I wasn’t in the mood. I was doped up on allergy meds, tired from a long week and not very confident since I haven’t run since Tuesday. I was “this” close to just skipping it and going back to bed. Thankfully my #1 fan, my husband, pulled the covers off me and said “Get up! It’s time to run your race!”

Brooks running shoes and turtle charm

After a few choice words ($^&#@), I got up, put on my running gear and we headed out.

The 5K was at The Orange County Great Park in Irvine to honor the memory of Kevin Cook who died in a motorcycle accident in 2006. You can read more about Kevin (here). The Great Park was built on the former El Toro Marine Corps Air Station so the course was a flat part of the former tarmac.

Until this race, I felt like I had experienced a runner’s high before but I realize now that I didn’t until today. It’s like an orgasm. You just know. If you say “maybe” then you didn’t. lol

The first 1.5 miles seemed to take forever but all the sudden about 1 mile left, the wind picked up around me and it was almost like my feet had a mind of its own and my body was just along for the ride. It was like an out of body experience. Then the last 1/2 mile I got a burst of energy and booked it towards the finish line.

Before I knew it.
The race was over.
And I finished with a new PR! (Shaved about 2 mins off my previous time.)

To my Husband: I’m so proud of me. And I am so in love with you. Thank you for your never ending support. ♥

Me and Andorra (my dog) before the 5k race (L) Me with my medal after the 5K race (R)

Distance: 3.17 miles
Walk pace: N/A
Run pace: 10:55/mile

Something to say? Leave a comment

