Spaghetti and (Meatless) Meatballs (WW+ 11 points)

My husband is going in for surgery tomorrow at 1230pm. Please think good thoughts for him. I’ll be the nervous wreck pacing in the waiting room.

So tonight I wanted to give him some comfort food.

I thought about going out to his favorite restaurant but we’ve been eating out TOO much lately. It’s time for some home cooked comfort food. When I asked him what he wanted I expected him to say MEATLOAF or CHICKEN PARMESAN so I was surprised when he said spaghetti. I mean. I love spaghetti too. But it’s not something that would be the first thing I’d say when someone asked me for my comfort food.

Mine would be MAC N CHEESE or CREME BRULEE or CUPCAKE. But that’s just me.

He’s the patient. Give the patient what he wants.

At least until he recovers. Then he’s back on dish washing duty.

Spaghetti and (Meatless) Meatballs
Recipe adapted from McCormick®

Makes 4 servings
CB’s changes in red = 11 points/serving

INGREDIENTS

For chunky tomato sauce
1 can (14.5oz) diced tomatoes
1 can (6 oz) tomato paste
3/4 cup water (I used 1/4 cup water to keep it on the chunky side)
2 tsp sugar (I used 1/2 tsp sugar)
1 tbsp Italian seasoning
1 tsp garlic powder (I used 1/2 tsp garlic powder)
1/2 tsp onion powder (I used 1/4 tsp onion powder)
1 tbsp olive oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/4-1/2 red onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, julienned
1 green bell pepper, julienned

Trader Joe’s meatless meatballs (1 bag= 28 to 30 meatballs)
8oz whole wheat spaghetti

1. Boil water and cook pasta to al dente. Drain and set aside.
2. Preheat oven to 375F and bake frozen meatballs for about 10-12 minutes.

To make sauce:
1. In a large saucepan, over medium high heat, cook the olive oil, garlic and onion until aromatic. Add in the bell peppers. Saute for a few minutes.
2. Add the diced tomatoes, tomato paste, water, sugar, Italian seasoning, garlic powder and onion powder and bring to a boil.
3. Reduce heat and let simmer for 15-20 minutes so all the flavors meld.

Sprinkled with Parmesan cheese. (Points not included)

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
My husband loves spaghetti and meatballs. I think he gets it from his mom, who is a fabulous cook so I wasn’t sure how he’d like the meatless meatballs. But he totally loved it!

Wifey rating: 4.5/5
I love this sauce. So chunky and yummy. Next time I might cut the bell peppers into smaller pieces so they are easier to eat though. I wasn’t sure what to expect from meatless meatballs but they were pretty darn tasty. They remind me of falafel.

Other rating: 4/5
My little brother came over for dinner and was a little skeptical about the meatless meatballs. But I didn’t hear any complaints. He cleaned his plate although he left all the bell peppers. Guess he’s not a fan of the peppers. lol

One response

Something to say? Leave a comment

