Crock Pot Sage and Apple Pork Tenderloin & Asparagus Risotto

Hi Honeys! I’m home.

View of the Atlantis Resort from my hotel balcony

The Bahamas was amazing.
I can’t believe my brother is married.
I totally bawled at the wedding.

And guess what? I came back just in time for WI day and… lost 0.4lbs!

Talk about surprised. I had mentally prepared myself for a gain but I’ll take the loss! I didn’t have easy access to the internet to track my points so I just tried my best to control my portions. You know? Like 1 plate instead of 2-3-4 plates at the buffet, drink LOTS of water and keep the sweets to a minimum. (The wedding cake was SO delicious!) I’m almost positive I went over my points everyday but I think it probably helped that I made an effort to earn some APs each day.

I feel like this experience is a turning point in my WW life.

This really is a lifestyle change. I’m living proof.


Crock Pot Pork Tenderloin & Asparagus Risotto
Recipe adapted from Simply Recipes and Everything Healthy Slow Cooker Cookbook by Rachel Rappaport

Makes 4 servings

FOR PORK TENDERLOIN (WW+ = 7 points/serving)
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 lb boneless pork tenderloin
1 cup sliced onions
10 fresh sage leaves
4 cups peeled, diced Granny Smith Apples (I used 3 apples)

1. Sprinkle pork tenderloin on both sides with salt and pepper.
2. Place onion slices at the bottom of the crock pot.
3. Add pork tenderloin on top of the onion slices.
4. Place sage leaves on pork tenderloin.
5. Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours. I cooked for 8 hours.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He loved it.

Wifey rating: 4/5
I loved that the pork was moist and easy to pull apart but I think next time I might sear the pork tenderloin before putting in the crock pot for a little crust (poor piece of meat looked like it needed a tan!) and cook it longer (10 hours) so that the apples have more time to add sweetness to the pork.

**************************************************

FOR RISOTTO (WW+ = 10 points/serving)
1 pound asparagus, cut into 1″ pieces
3 Tbsp plus 1 teaspoon unsalted butter
1/2 cup chopped shallots (I substituted 3 garlic cloves, minced and 1/2 cup red onion, chopped instead)
1 cup arborio rice
1/2 cup dry white wine*
3 1/2 cups chicken stock**
1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
Salt and pepper, to taste

* Can substitute 1 Tbsp lemon juice+1/4 cup water for wine
** Can substitute vegetable stock for vegetarian option

1. Fill a saucepan with water and bring to a boil.
2. Blanch the asparagus pieces for about 2 minutes. Use a slotted spoon to remove the asparagus from boiling water to ice water bath to stop the cooking. Drain the ice water and set asparagus aside.
3. In a saucepan**, melt 3 tbsp of butter over medium heat. Add shallots garlic and onion and cook until translucent.
4. While shallots are cooking, in a separate saucepan, bring chicken stock to a simmer.
5. Add arborio rice to the shallots and stir for about 2 minutes.
6. Add the white wine and stir slowly so the rice absorbs the white wine. When the white wine is almost absorbed add 1/2 cup of chicken stock to the rice.
7. Stir until stock is almost absorbed. Continue to add chicken stock in 1/2 cup increments until rice is tender but still a little firm about 15-20 minutes.
8. Remove saucepan from heat and add Parmesan cheese, 1 tsp butter, salt and papper.

** I used the same saucepan as the one I blanched the asparagus in to save dishes

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He raved about this dish. He was still raving even an hour later.

Wifey rating: 5/5
I am a BIG fan of risotto. This recipe takes a little time and attention but it’s SO worth it. I can’t wait to eat the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

4 responses

  1. OMG!! I can't believe that I found your newest blog, CB. I used to participate in TWD. LOVED doing it but it caused some serious weight gain. I was shut out of TWD for inactivity and know it was for the best. I have been doing WW since January and have lost about 20 lbs. I will be following your new blog and cooking up some of your delicious looking recipes!!! Super excited:)

  2. Hi Anonymous! So cool to see a fellow ex-TWD baker on here. Can you tell me your name/blog so I know who you are?? HA HA. Awesome job on WW so far! I'm been slacking a little on this blog but I'm getting my act together tonight!

  3. Hi Michelle! So sorry about the lack of blog updates. Nikki's not really following WW anymore and my excuse is that I'm a slacker! I blame summer. HA HA! I promise I'll get back into it…

Something to say? Leave a comment

