Cheesy Turkey Enchiladas (WW+ 8 points)

Hello my name is Clara. And I’m a cookbook-o-holic.

They say the first step is admitting you have a problem. But what if you don’t want the cure? I LOVE cookbooks. I have them on my 2nd bedroom library, in my kitchen, in the bedroom, in the bathroom (What? You don’t like to read cookbooks when you potty? Well that’s weird.), under the bed, everywhere… My current favorite is Now Eat This! by Rocco DiSpirito. I picked up that bad boy from Costco a couple weekends ago.

Being a cookbook lover, I like the pictures of food. Being a WWer, I LOVE that he includes nutritional information (NI) for each recipe. Although I will say that if you aren’t a fan of artificial sweeteners (AS) like Truvia or Stevia, you may not like it. He doesn’t have it in every recipe but that’s how he reduces calories. Personally, I’m ok with it. Although I prefer the one in the blue packet. (Pssst. I’m talking about Equal for all my AS virgins.)

Considering the day, you all know I had to make something Mexican inspired right?

Happy Cinco de Drinko!

I don’t drink often but when I do it’s Dos Equis. Stay thirsty my friends.


Cheesy Turkey Enchiladas w Tomatillo Salsa
Recipe adapted from Now Eat This! by Rocco DiSpirito

Makes 4 servings
Original recipe = 8 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 11 WW+ points/serving

12 oz ground turkey breast (I used 16 oz ground turkey breast)
4-9 inch low carb tortillas (I used La Tortilla Factory low carb tortillas)
2/3 cup fat free spicy black bean dip (I used Fritos spicy enchilada black bean dip)
salt and pepper, to taste
12oz jar tomatillo salsa (I used 16oz jar of La Victoria salsa verde)
1 cup reduced fat Mexican cheese blend
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1. Preheat oven to 450F
2. In a large saute pan, over medium high heat, cook the ground turkey breast, stirring and breaking it up, until it is cooked through.
3. While the turkey breast is cooking, char the tortillas lightly on each side over an open flame or under a broiler. Keep tortillas warm under a clean kitchen towel. (I heat them in a skillet pan over high heat until each side was crisp and golden.)
4. After the turkey is cooked, turn off the heat and stir in the black bean dip. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.
5. Divide the turkey black bean mixture evenly over 4 tortillas. Roll the tortilla up tightly to encase the filling. Lay them side-by-side in a 9×13 baking dish. (I used an 8×8 pyrex dish b/c it fit better.)
6. Spoon the salsa over the tortillas and sprinkled with cheese. Bake until the cheese is melted, about 10-12 minutes.
7. Serve with a sprinkle of fresh cilantro.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He loves Mexican food and had nothing but raves for this dish.

Wifey rating: 5/5
Even though I’m getting better at keeping my portions to 1 serving, (I realize how ridiculous some portions sizes at restaurants are now!) this one took HUGE of inner strength not to go back for a second! This dish was so easy to make and so FRIGGIN delicious. I can’t wait for lunch leftovers tomorrow! I ♥ Rocco.

Something to say? Leave a comment

