Asian Glazed Chicken (WW+ 7 points)

How was everyone’s Easter?

Mine was filled with family, friends, peeps, jelly beans, bbq chicken/ribs/brisket/sausage, cole slaw, baked beans, mac and cheese, cupcakes, sweet potato pie and dinner rolls. Yikes! I tried really hard to keep the portions small but if I estimated correctly, I ate about 25 points. Double yikes! Oh well… Nothing I can do now but track and get over the guilt.

Another week. Another WI. Well… officially it’s tomorrow. But it’s heavy on my mind every Monday night.

I can’t believe it will be 8 weeks tomorrow.

My husband was just telling me today “Honey, don’t be mad at me but when you told me you signed up for Weight Watchers, I wasn’t sure how long you’d stay on it but you proved me wrong and you are really committed. I’m so proud of you!”

At first I was kinda upset with him. Of course I’m committed! But then I realized, he’s right. I tend to sign up for things and slowly my enthusiasm+motivation fades and I quit. *staring at a few unfinished house projects collecting dust* So I can’t deny that Husband’s assessment is correct.

But this time I’m promised myself I’m not quitting. I’m in it to win it!

And by “win it” I mean fit into skinny jeans.


Asian Glazed Chicken
Recipe adapted from Skinny Taste

Makes 4 servings
Original recipe = 7 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 9 WW+ points/serving

8 medium chicken drumsticks, skin removed (I used 6 chicken thighs)
Pam spray oil
1 cup water
1 tbsp Sriracha hot sauce, more or less to taste (I used 1 tbsp)
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup soy sauce
4 tsp agave nectar or sugar (I used agave nectar)
3 cloves garlic, crushed
1 tsp ginger, grated
2 tbsp chives or scallions, chopped (I used scallions)
1 tsp sesame seeds
2 cups white rice
16oz broccoli florets, steamed

1. In a heavy large saucepan, spray chicken with a little cooking spray and brown on high for 3-4 minutes. (I cooked chicken thighs for about 3-4 minutes per side)
2. Add water, balsamic, soy sauce, agave, garlic, ginger and Sriracha to saucepan. Cook on high until liquid comes to a boil.
3. Reduce heat to low, cover saucepan and let simmer for about 20 minutes.
4. Remove cover and bring heat to high. Allow sauce to reduce down, about 8-10 minutes, until it becomes a thick glaze, turning chicken occasionally. Keep an eye on glaze, you don’t want it to burn when it start becoming thick. (Mine took about 12 minutes to thicken.)
5. Transfer chicken to a plate and pour glaze on top. Top with chives (scallions) and sesame seeds and serve with rice and steamed broccoli.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He’s not usually one to like spicy foods but he devoured his plate and asked for seconds.

Wifey rating: 5/5
I have nothing but raves for this dish. The sauce was so yummy and the chicken was fall off the bone delicious! I’m definitely making this one again and again.

Something to say? Leave a comment

