Crock Pot Chicken Paella (WW+ 7 points)

I couldn’t sleep last night.

I was too nervous, excited, worried, scared, all of the above for WI this morning. I know I’ve talked it to death but my gain from last week still haunted me. After talking to Nikki about it, I realize that it could be from many things but when Nikki realized that one of the things I changed “gain” week was how I used my APs, that’s when she said “Why did you change it when what you were already doing worked for you?” All I could do was shake my head and say “I don’t know!” to every follow up question.

Now I’ll be the first to tell you that the WW discussion boards are very helpful but when you have so many people on WW tweaking the plan to work for them it’s hard not to get caught up on what gives people THEIR big losses. So when I read that a few people were using their APs only on the day they earned them, I decided to do the same thing. BAM! I gained. I think the moral of the story for me is that I should stick with what’s working for me instead of comparing my weight loss with someone else. When it comes a time when I reach a plateau then I will have to re-evaluate but until then if it aint broke don’t fix it!

So I switched back to the original plan which was using my APs anytime during the week and then dipping into my WPs when the APs ran out. And guess what?

WI #7 = -3.0lbs Total = -13.8lbs!

Why hello 170s! Stick around longer this time, won’t ya? *fist pump*


Crock Pot Chicken Paella
Recipe adapted from WW discussion boards

Makes 4 servings
Original recipe = 7 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 8 WW+ points/serving

4- 4 oz boneless, skinless chicken thighs
2 medium tomatoes, chopped
1 medium onions, chopped
1 medium green pepper, chopped (I used red bell pepper instead)
1/2 cup chicken broth
3 medium garlic cloves, chopped
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp ground turmeric
1/3 cup frozen green peas (I used 2 cups instead)*
2 cups cooked white rice

* I didn’t mean to add that many peas but I didn’t read the recipe before I dumped the whole bag in! haha. I’m not sure why the points went up for a frozen veggie though… *scratching head*

1. Place all ingredients EXCEPT peas and rice in the crockpot.
2. Cover and cook on low for 5 hours.
3. Add peas and rice and cook until peas are tender, about 15 minutes.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
My husband is on a Spanish kick these days. It probably has something to with us going to Spain this summer. So he loves Spanish food and LOVED this paella.

Wifey rating: 4/5
This dish was easy to put together and I liked it but I think next time I make it I might reduce the tumeric (it was kinda strong for me) and add some salt for more flavor.

One response

Something to say? Leave a comment

