Shrimp and Crab Cakes (WW+ 6 points)

This past week has been kinda crazy. April is a busy month for the Hubsy b/c he’s a teacher so the culmination of his teaching efforts comes down to 1 day: AP testing which is Tminus 19 days… So all of April he does many after school and weekend reviews for his students on top of his regular teaching job and endless meetings. Needless to say I do not like cooking for 1 so I’ve been picking up Subway or eating leftovers when he stays late at work.

Speaking of Subway… I have a few things that I’m proud of, that my WW friends call NSVs (non-scale victories), that I wanna make sure I write down so that I can re-read later when I need some motivation.

1. Instead of my favorite fast food burger or pizza joint, I’ve been opting for Subway which is pretty point friendly. I get the 6″ Subway club (wheat bread, no oil, no mayo, no mustard, w vinegar, salt n pepper) = 8 points. Not too shabby point wise for fast food.
2. I finished Week 1 of the C25K running program. 8 more weeks to go… eek! I can’t believe *I am* running.
3. I fit into my 14 jeans now! Tiny bit of muffin top but comfortable for me to wear outside. Good bye forever 16s! w00t!
4. I went to friend’s son’s birthday and even though there was spaghetti, garlic bread, pizza and cake available, I didn’t partake and stuck to my plan of enjoying the people rather than the food. And ate dinner when I got home.
5. Since I gained last week, I decided to increase my activity so I’m averaging about 7 APs per day. (Running 3x/week, walking the dog 2hrs/day, Zumba 1x/week). Hopefully this will make the scale move in the right direction again.

But more than the scale shows, I’m feeling good, making healthier food choices and enjoying exercise. I never thought I’d be able to say that. Winning!


Shrimp and Crab Cake “Burgers”
Recipe adapted from Weight Watchers

Makes 4 servings
Original recipe = 6 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 9 WW+ points/serving

1/4 cup light mayonnaise
2 tbsp cilantro, fresh, chopped
1 tbsp fish sauce
2 tsp ginger root, fresh, peeled and grated
2 tsp lime zest, grated (I used 1 small lime)
1 tsp Sriracha Chili Sauce
6 oz cooked crabmeat, lump, picked over and flaked
1/4 pounds shrimp, peeled, deveined, and chopped (I used 10 medium shrimp)
2/3 cups dried bread crumbs
1 medium scallion, chopped
1-1/2 tbsp peanut oil (I used 2 tbsp instead)
1/4 medium lemon, slices, for serving (I omitted)
4 Oroweat Sandwich Thins (8 halves)
butter lettuce
dijon mustard, to taste
tomato slices

1. In a large bowl, combine the mayonnaise, cilantro, fish sauce, ginger, lime zest, Sriracha sauce, crabmeat, shrimp, 1/3 cup of the bread crumbs and the scallions. Mix with a fork until well combined.
2. Spread the remaining 1/3 cup bread crumbs onto a plate. Shape the fish mixture into four balls. (I weighed each ball about 4oz.)
3. Roll each ball in the bread crumbs then flatten each into a 3-inch diameter cake.
4. Heat the peanut oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add the fish cakes and cook until crisp and golden on the outside and cooked through in the center, about 6 minutes on each side. (Recipe only mentions lime zest but I didn’t wanna waste the juice so I squirt some lime juice over each cake.)
5. Toast the sandwich thin and create a burger with the shrimp and crab cake, lettuce, dijon mustard and tomato.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He likes seafood (in small doses) but he’s a beef burger man so I was kinda hesitant to try this recipe since I didn’t know how it would go over with Hubs but he really liked it!

Wifey rating: 5/5
I LOVE seafood. And this burger was so yummy! Next time I might take the point hit and make some rémoulade dipping sauce (mayo, mustard and tabasco) to spread on the buns and kick it up a notch!

Something to say? Leave a comment

