Spaghetti (Squash) and Meatballs (WW+ 7 points)

So you know how I mentioned I gained this week?

Well I tend to get obsessive and dwell on things. (Nikki is probably SICK TO DEATH of hearing me talk about why I gained but she’s a trooper and never complains. I love you girl.) So I went back through my WW tracker and looked at all my food choices. Even though I stayed within my points all week, I know that the carb monster reared its ugly head on Friday night. Can you say water retention?? I ate 38 points just for dinner! (I get 29 points/day) Stupid 15 point Panera bread bowls. I have a love/hate relationship with you.

So I decided that I need to figure out some alternatives to pasta, bread and carbs. I’ve heard of spaghetti squash from many websites and food blogs that I follow but never tried it until now. Whole wheat pasta is just not doing it for me. If anyone out there has a recommendation, I’m all ears!

Spaghetti squash verdict? One word. Crunchy?


Spaghetti (Squash) and Meatballs
Recipe adapted from Cook This Not That!

Makes 4 servings
7 WW+ points/serving

8 oz ground sirloin (7% less fat)
8 oz ground turkey
1 egg
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
1/4 cup grated Parmesan, plus extra for garnish
1/2 tsp fennel seeds
salt and pepper, to taste
1 slice white bread, torn into small pieces and briefly soaked in milk (I used Oroweat Soft Whole Wheat)
1/2 tbsp olive oil
1 small onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
Pinch of red pepper flakes
1 can (28oz) crushed tomatoes
spaghetti squash, halved and seeded

1. Preheat oven to 450F
2. Combine the sirloin, turkey, egg, parsley, fennel seeds and 3/4 tsp salt in a large bowl. Squeeze the excess milk from the bread pieces and add to the bowl.
3. Use your hands to mix the ingredients together. Form meatballs about 1″ diameter and place them on a baking pan. (I weighed each meatball at 1 oz and got 23 meatballs b/c I’m OCD like that.) Bake for 25 minutes.
4. While meatballs bake, add oil to saucepan. Over medium heat, saute the onion, garlic and pepper flakes. Cook for 3 minutes until onions are translucent. Add the crushed tomatoes, salt and pepper. Reduce heat and let simmer while meatballs are baking.
5. After meatballs are done baking, transfer them from the oven to the sauce. Cook for another 20-30 minutes, turning the meatballs occasionally so all meatballs are coated with sauce.
6. While meatballs are simmering in the tomato sauce, reduce oven to 375F.
7. Lightly grease a baking sheet. (I use Pam olive oil)
8. Place spaghetti squash cut sides down on the prepared baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes or until a sharp knife can be inserted with only a little resistance.
9. Remove squash from oven and set aside to cool enough to be easily handled.
10. Run a fork through in the “stem to stern” direction to create the spaghetti strands.
11. Spoon some meatballs and sauce over the spaghetti squash. Garnish with Parmesan cheese and chopped fresh basil.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He’s not a carb freak like me so he loved the spaghetti squash alternative. I’m so lucky to have a husband that is willing to try new foods without complaining.

Wifey rating: 4/5
I don’t know why but I was expecting it to be more soft and starchy tasting like a pasta. But it was more crunchy. Like eating finely shredded carrots. It was good but not what I was expecting. And definitely not a suitable alternative to the yummy deliciousness of pasta. Although I will probably make it again b/c it wasn’t bad. Just different.

Something to say? Leave a comment

