Black Bean Brownies (WW+ 3 points)

I miss baking.

I use to bake every week if not every other day. Cupcakes, brownies, cookies etc. My family always knew *I* was responsible for desserts when it came to holidays and get-togethers. It was my “thing”. Heck I even belonged to an online baking group! <– Unfortunately I quit due to inactivity.

But being on WW doesn’t make baking very point friendly. So I haven’t baked much in the last 6 weeks. (Although I cook more so my husband loves it!) I know I can’t completely cut baking out of my life. I love it too much. And WW encourages you to think of the diet as a lifestyle change. So I googled some point friendly desserts and Big Goo came up with some doozies. But as soon as I saw black bean+brownies, my first thought was “Eeeww gross!” but my curiosity was piqued and I just HAD TO try it.


Black Bean Brownies
Recipe from Cheap Healthy Food

Makes 20 brownies
3 WW+ points/serving*

* Points/serving may vary depending on the brownie mix you use. Always calculate points based on the Nutritional Ingredients for the actual brand you use.

1 box brownie mix (I used Pillsbury Chocolate Fudge family size)
1-15 ounce can black beans

1. Drain and rinse beans through a strainer. Pour beans back into the can. Add water to can until can is filled to the top. Pour contents of can into a blender. Puree the life out of it! (I used the liquify button on mine b/c I did not want to see bean chunks in my brownies!)
2. Combine bean mixture with brownie mix in a large bowl or stand mixer. Follow the baking instructions on the back of the brownie box. (I baked my brownies for 28 minutes in a 9×13 pan)

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He couldn’t believe it after I told him there were black beans in there. Needless to say he loved them.

Wifey rating: 5/5
I was VERY skeptical b/c the can of beans smelled awful and the brownies didn’t rise much. Maybe 1/4″ thick if that. But I was in chocolate brownie heaven when I ate 1 piece. Maybe it’s a good thing I know there are beans it them. Keeps me from wanting to eat too many. *toot toot*

2 responses

  1. Michelle: Oh I agree. If I hadn't tasted it myself I would not be able to believe that they didn't have any bean taste. But it's true! Just chocolate-y brownie goodness (with some extra protein and fiber. lol)

Something to say? Leave a comment

