Pesto & Feta Stuffed Chicken Breasts (WW+ 6 points)

Let’s talk about X baby!

As in eXercise.

I read the WW boards daily. You could almost call it an addiction. I like seeing how other people on WW are doing. What’s working for them. What’s not working for them; New food finds; New snack ideas; Low point recipes etc. Although I could do without people spelling lose with 2 Os.

FYI You “lose” weight. Your pants are “loose”. I’m glad that’s off my chest.

But one thing I’m really interested in is the topic of exercise and it’s role in losing weight on WW. I don’t think you’ll find anyone that says you shouldn’t exercise but when it comes to using Activity Points (AP) earned, that is where the road diverges. Some people feel that it’s counter productive to eat your APs b/c you need to create a deficit and you can only lose when calories in are less than calories burned. Whereas others feel that WW as a program wouldn’t allow you to eat your APs if there wasn’t substantial research that following the program you will still lose weight. Did I lose (not loose) you?

Don’t worry. I confuse myself all the time.

Every body is different. All I know is my own experience. I eat all my Daily Points, all my Activity Points (on the day I earn them) and half of my Weekly Points each week and I’ve lost weight. *knock on wood* So I’m just gonna continue to do what works for me. When I get to my first gain (bc I’m not delusional enough to think I won’t gain at some point) I’ll have to re-evaluate. But for now I’m gonna stick with my game plan.


Pesto & Feta Stuffed Chicken
Recipe from Just 5 Weight Watcher Cookbook

Makes 4 servings
Original recipe = 6 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 6 WW+ points/serving

1/2 cup crumbled reduced fat feta cheese
2 tbsp prepared pesto sauce
1/4 tsp black pepper plus more to taste
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 tsp olive oil
3 tbsp fresh basil, rough chop
16 oz frozen broccoli florets, thawed and steamed

1. In a bowl, combine feta, pesto and black pepper.
2. Using a sharp knife make a pocket by slicing parallel to the chicken breast. Do not cut all the way through. Repeat for all chicken breasts.
3. Add 2 tbsp of the stuffing into the pocket of each breast. Secure pockets with toothpicks and sprinkle a little more black pepper to taste.
4. Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium high heat. Add chicken breast and cook until browned and cooked through, about 6-8 minutes per side.
5. Remove from heat and let rest for 5 minutes before cutting into them. Sprinkle with basil.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He loves the combination of chicken and pesto so this was a definite winner for him!

Wifey rating: 4/5
I liked it but I didn’t love it. I also didn’t get the basil. Seems like a waste of money just for a garnish. Maybe WW couldn’t think of the 5th ingredient? Next time I’ll either omit or add the basil to the stuffing.

Something to say? Leave a comment

