Crock Pot Brown Sugar Chicken (WW+ 6 points)

Major case of the Mondays.

Monday is my LEAST favorite day of the week. I almost feel bad for Mondays. You know I’m not the only one that thinks Mondays suck. In fact I’m willing to bet 99.9% of people agree that Mondays are the worst day of the week. Granted I have no scientific proof but let’s call it a gut feeling.

Speaking of gut feelings. I have a knot in the pit of my stomach. It’s almost ironic that I had a crappy day on the worst day of the week and I’m an emotional eater too. You know that combination does not bode well. Oh and did I mention that WI #5 is tomorrow? Grrrrreat.

On days like today, I just wanna kiss the inventor of the Crock Pot. Coming home to brown sugar chicken smells was like getting a hug. A much needed hug…

(Did I mention that I’m a drama queen? No? Well now you know.)


Crock Pot Brown Sugar Chicken
Recipe adapted from A Year Of Slow Cooking

Makes 8 servings
Original recipe = 6 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 9 WW+ points/serving

6 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (I used 8 chicken breast halves)
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup lemon-lime soda (I used diet 7-up)
2/3 cup vinegar
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp soy sauce (I used reduced sodium soy sauce)
1 tsp ground black pepper
4 cups brown rice
1 lb oven roasted asparagus

1. Put chicken into your crockpot. Add the brown sugar, black pepper, minced garlic, and soy sauce. Then add the vinegar and pour in the soda. It will bubble!
2. Cover and cook on low for 6-9 hours, or on high for 4-5. (I cooked on low for 8 hours.)
3. Serve with brown rice and asparagus with a spoonful of the broth.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He was a little skeptical about the brown sugar and 7-up but since he’s a good sport he always eats what I cook. I knew it was a winner when he took the first bite and said “Oh baby… this is in the top 3!”

Wifey rating: 4.5/5
I really enjoyed the flavors of this dish. The chicken breast was a tad dry to me (even though my husband said it was so juicy… go figure!) but I think since I prefer dark meat I might be a little biased. I bet this dish would be DELISH with chicken thighs. Might have to try that next time. Unfortunately I’m sure it’s more points. Boo!

Something to say? Leave a comment

