Gnocchi w Peas, Proscuitto and Asparagus (WW+8 points)

Can we talk about the “O” word?

No, not THAT “O” word. Come on. This is a family blog. You all are dirty.

I’m talking about the word: Obese.

I hate that word.

Maybe that’s why I hate when I have to calculate my BMI for any reason. Always obese. I knew I wasn’t a skinny minny. But I never felt like obese was a good one word description of me. Maybe fluffy, pleasantly plump (ok that’s 2 words), chubby, husky or pudgey. But never obese.

Before I started WW, my BMI was 34.9. Yikes! I think the healthy range for me is 18.5–24.9. But now that I’ve lost 9.8 lbs, my BMI is 33.1. Ok sure it’s still in the obese range but I’m HAPPY it’s going in the downward direction.

This might be the one time I’m rooting for “overweight”. Ironic, no?


Gnocchi w Peas, Proscuitto and Asparagus
Recipe adapted from Cook This Not That!

Makes 4 servings
Original recipe = 8 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 9 WW+ points/serving

2 tbsp butter, unsalted
1/2 bunch (about 10 spears) asparagus, chopped into 1″ pieces (I used 1/2 lb)
1 cup frozen peas
3 oz proscuitto, sliced into thin strips
1 cup low sodium chicken broth (I used fat free beef broth)
salt and pepper, to taste
12 oz packaged gnocchi (I used 16oz instead)
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, garnish

1. In a large skillet, melt 1 tbsp butter, over medium heat. Add asparagus and saute for about 2-3 minutes, then stir in peas, proscuitto and stock.
2. Cook for another 3-4 minute, until asparagus is tender and peas are soft. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Reduce heat to low to keep warm.
3. In a large pot of boiling water, add gnocchi until they float to the top, less than 5 minutes. Drain gnocchi and add to the skillet with 1 tbsp of butter.
4. Cook together for 1-2 minutes, stirring occasionally so sauce and gnocchi mix.
5. Garnish with Parmesan cheese.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
I usually serve gnocchi with a cream based sauce so I wasn’t sure how he would like his “lighter” version but he had nothing but raves!

Wifey rating: 5/5
I love creamy pastas. Probably one of the reasons I’m fat. So I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about a broth based gnocchi, but I’m so glad I was wrong. This was so yummy. I used beef broth b/c that’s what I had available but I’m sure the chicken broth version wold be just as good.

4 responses

  1. This looks great! I'll be adding this to the menu next week.

    And congrats on that BMI thing! I always like it when I get on the Wii Fit and it tells me I'm “overweight.” Especially in front of my kids. :-(

  2. I made this the other night and it was so great! I would wait until the gnocchi is done before adding the proscuitto (ours was a little overcooked), but overall…amazing! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Something to say? Leave a comment

