Crock Pot 40 Garlic Clove Chicken (WW+ 11 points)

Tomorrow is WI #4.

You’d think after 4 weeks, it would be no biggie. But it’s a BIG biggie. Huge even.

Part of me dreads it. Part of me is excited for it. It really depends on how On Plan (OP) I’ve been all week. This week I kinda dread it. I was good Monday to Thursday but Friday, Saturday, Sunday was rough. I mean it was yummy which means I didn’t eat so great point-wise. Well technically I used my Weeklies so I guess I was OP but for some reason I feel like if I leave 1/2 my Weeklies I’ll lose weight faster. I know. I know. I’m screwed up! But I know I ate more than I should regardless of how many points I had left over.

I know this is a whole lifestyle change and there’s no time limit but in my head there *IS* a time frame that I’m aiming for. 6 months. 50lbs. Nice round numbers. Easy to remember. Impossible? I don’t know. I guess we’ll see in 6 months. Nikki has convinced me that 50lbs in 6 months might be too stressful on the mind, body and soul so I’m going for a healthier 50lbs in 9 months.

So tonight, even though I could have eaten about 4 servings of this dish, I was determined to get back on the wagon and stick to the points. I won’t lie. It’s not easy. But all you can do when you fall down is pick yourself back up and hope your fellow wagon riders will hoist you back on. Oh Nikki??


Crock Pot 40 Garlic Clove Chicken
Recipe adapted from A Year Of Slow Cooking

Makes 6 servings
Original recipe = 15 WW+ points
CB’s changes in red = 15 WW+ points

4lbs drumsticks and thighs (I used 3 lbs)
1 large onion (I used a large white onion)
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp kosher salt
2 tsp paprika
1 tsp pepper (I used 1/2 tsp instead)
20-40 garlic cloves, peeled, but intact (I used 30 cloves)
1 cup brown rice
1 lb oven roasted asparagus*

* I toss the asparagus in 1 tsp olive oil, sprinkled w kosher salt and pepper and roast in a 400F oven for 7-10 minutes.

1. Place onion slices on the bottom of the crock pot. In a large mixing bowl, toss chicken with olive oil, salt, paprika, pepper, and all of the garlic cloves. Add chicken to crockpot over the onions. Do not add water.
2. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours, or on high for 4-6. (I cooked on low for 8 hours.)
3. Serve with brown rice and oven roasted asparagus.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He really loved the drumsticks and thighs but said next time he wants me to do the same thing with chicken breast. He’s a chicken breast man.

Wifey rating: 5/5
I love dark meat even though I know that skinless breast meat is healthier so this was SO FRIGGIN TASTY to me but I guessss I can make it next time with chicken breast for my Hubby. I’m a good wifey like that.

2 responses

  1. I'm totally here to hoist you back on the wagon when you're done.

    I am also tres pleased you've revised your goal. I think 9 months turns this less into a race that won't allow speed bumps. Like speed bumps happen and you need at least a little bit of breathing room to account for those bumps in the road. Be they vacations or plain bad weeks. Your original goal allowed for no speed bumps or even great weeks that weren't quite great enough. You can totally do this.

  2. Pingback: I can’t believe it’s been 28 weeks weigh-in edition. | See Cupcake Run

Something to say? Leave a comment

