Crock Pot Pho (8 PP+)

Maybe it’s because I’m feeling a little discouraged. Maybe it’s the rainy weather the last few days. Maybe it’s TOM and I’m eating like a … pig hippo. But I just needed some comfort food tonight.

I tell all my Caucasian friends that Pho is equivalent to Vietnamese chicken noodle soup. Except it’s usually made with beef. Although my Husband likes the chicken version too. All I know is that my Mom’s is the best. It’s great for the soul.

Exactly what I needed.

Why am I discouraged you ask? I dunno. All I know is I’m starting to second guess myself and it’s trying my patience. Ask Nikki. Patience is not a virtue that I possess. I even changed my goal weight to 10lbs more. Don’t ask me why. I just started thinking that 150lbs was more obtainable than 140lbs.

Obviously that’s just ridiculous. But somehow it makes sense to me today.

Tomorrow I’ll change it back. But today it’s pity party of one.

(Sorry to be a Debbie Downer tonight. It happens.)


Crock Pot Pho (Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup)
Recipe adapted from A Year Of Slow Cooking

Makes 4 servings
Original recipe = 8 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 12 WW+ points/serving

6 cups beef broth or stock (I used Swanson beef broth)
2 inch chunk of ginger, peeled
3/4 tsp anise (I used 1 whole star anise instead)
1 cinnamon stick (I used 1 tsp ground cinnamon instead)
2 sliced green onions
1 lb thin sliced beef (I used pre-packaged stew meat)
4 oz rice noodles (I used 6oz b/c that’s what I had in my pantry and figured why waste 2 oz!)
1 tsp fish sauce
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp black pepper (I used 1/4 tsp instead)

Toppings: per bowl
1/4 lime wedge
1 tbsp hoisin sauce
1/4-1/2 tsp of red chili sauce aka Sriracha sauce (I call it Rooster sauce!)
cilantro, garnish to taste
bean sprouts, garnish to taste

1. Add all the beef broth into the crockpot. Then add the meat, green onion, ginger, fish sauce, cinnamon, anise, salt and pepper. Cover and cook on high for 3-4 hours, or on low for 4-6. (I cooked on high for 3 hours.)
2. Add the rice noodles to the pot. Push them under the liquid to cook thoroughly, about 15 minutes.
3. Serve immediately in bowls and garnish with bean sprouts, squirt of lime wedge and cilantro. Add hoisin sauce and red chili sauce for additional flavor.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
We’ve had Pho at Vietnamese restaurants and at my mom’s house so he knows it takes a lot longer to get a really great Pho broth than 3 hours in a crock pot but I think he was really surprised at how much he enjoyed this dish.

Wifey rating: 5/5
Ditto Hubs. I still give the edge to my mom but this was DARN tasty!

5 responses

  1. I made this for dinner the other night and I loved it! It was so flavorful. My husband, on the other hand, didn't like it. Boo for him, because I'll totally make this again! (And mine wasn't as pretty as yours!)

  2. @Michelle, Bummer your husband didn't like it. Does he like Vietnamese food in general? Glad you loved it! I don't think it's as good as broth simmering all day but it will work in a crock pot pinch :)

Something to say? Leave a comment

