Meatballs and Polenta (WW+ 10 points)

I have a core group of WW friends online that support each other. I don’t know what I’d do without these ladies. We vent to each other. We talk about recipes and low point snacks. We chat about our frustrations and celebrate our victories. I come to them with random questions. It can get pretty random up in here.

Oh like this one…

“Does diet play a role in dry hands?”

Hey! I said it was random.

But seriously. My hands have been so dry lately.

Nikki aka Google Master, even tried to find an answer for me but the Big Goo came up with nada. Anyone out there in Blogland think of a reason? My husband said it’s probably b/c I’m cooking more at home, I’m washing my hands more. That sounds plausible. But I can’t give my husband the satisfaction of saying “You’re right honey.” If I do, I can never go back. lol


Meatballs and Polenta
Recipe adapted from Cook This Not That

Makes 4 servings
Original recipe = 10 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 10 WW+ points/serving

8 oz ground sirloin (I omitted)
8 oz ground turkey (I used 16oz ground turkey)
1 egg
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley, plus extra for garnish
1/4 cup grated Parmesan, plus extra for garnish
1/2 tsp fennel seeds
salt and pepper, to taste
1 slice white bread, torn into small pieces and briefly soaked in milk (I used 1 Oroweat Sandwich Thins, whole wheat)
1/2 tbsp olive oil
1 small onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
Pinch of red pepper flakes
1 can (28oz) crushed tomatoes
1 cup dried polenta, prepared according to package instructions

1. Preheat oven to 450F
2. Combine the sirloin, turkey, egg, parsley, fennel seeds and 3/4 tsp salt in a large bowl. Squeeze the excess milk from the bread pieces and add to the bowl.
3. Use your hands to mix the ingredients together. Form meatballs about 1″ diameter and place them on a baking pan. (I weighed each meatball at 1 oz and got 18 meatballs b/c I’m OCD like that.) Bake for 25 minutes.
4. While meatballs bake, add oil to saucepan. Over medium heat, saute the onion, garlic and pepper flakes. Cook for 3 minutes until onions are translucent. Add the crushed tomatoes, salt and pepper. Reduce heat and let simmer while meatballs are baking.
5. After meatballs are done bake, transfer from the oven to the sauce. Cook for another 10-20 minutes, turning the meatballs occasionally so all meatballs are coated with sauce.
6. Serve meatballs over polenta. Top with a little chopped parsley and grated Parmesan.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He was a little skeptical about the polenta. But he really enjoyed the texture and said it made him more full than a bowl of pasta would. He said it’s similar to couscous. I think he also mentioned it being his favorite recipe so far. Score!

Wifey rating: 5/5
I made my meatballs from all ground turkey but next time I’ll make sure to defrost my ground sirloin (doh!) so I can have a 50/50 combo instead. Nothing wrong with all ground turkey but I think some sirloin would make it even tastier. I’ve never had polenta before. People described it to me like cornbread but I’d say it’s more like couscous with a firm tofu texture. I dug it. I’ll definitely make it again.

2 responses

Something to say? Leave a comment

