Crock Pot Root Beer Pulled Pork (WW+ 10 points)

Funny story about root beer.


My husband thinks it tastes like Pepto. I think he’s crazy.

My 13 month twin nieces, Allison and Whitney, are nicknamed the Root Beer Twins. Get it? A&W. My SIL’s email is “rootbeermama”. So needless to say I have a special place in my heart for root beer but it has to be A&W.

No Barqs.
No Mug.
Not in our house.
That’s blasphemy.

Would you wanna explain yourself to those sweet little faces? I didn’t think so.


Crock Pot Root Beer Pulled Pork
Recipe adapted from A Year of Slow Cooking

INGREDIENTS
2 pounds boneless pork shoulder roast
1 large yellow onion, sliced in rings (I used a white onion)
1-2 tbsp Tabasco sauce (I used 1 tbsp)
1 cup chili sauce
2 cups root beer (I used diet A&W root beer)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
6 Oroweat Sandwich Thins (12 halves)
6 leaves of butter lettuce
pickle

1. Put the pork shoulder in crock pot and add sliced onion.
2. Combine Tabasco sauce, chili sauce, root beer, and vanilla extract and pour over pork shoulder.
3. Cover and cook on low for about 8 hours, or until pork shreds easily with a fork. I put my pork shoulder in frozen and cooked on low for 10 hours.
4. Serve on toasted buns with a pickle.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5+/5
He came home first and texted me that the house smelled so good and I needed to get home asap so we could eat dinner. I didn’t time how fast he ate the sandwich but let’s just say I don’t even think he chewed! I’m guessing it didn’t taste like Pepto!

Wifey rating: 5+/5
Omg so delicious. You don’t even need any kind of condiments (mayo, ketchup etc) b/c the meat is so flavorful. It’s probably good that I am slightly obsessed with my digital food scale. I know that I would have overestimated how much 1 serving was if I didn’t weigh it out. I could have eaten 2… 3… 6 servings.

4 responses

  1. Drooling over this. Wonder if it would work with Dr. Pepper? (We don't drink/buy pop any more, but we have a sodastream and generic diet Dr. Pepper syrup)

    • Hi Elle! Welcome from Pinterest. Sorry if my instructions were unclear. I did use diet and even though it’s not pictured, I also use both halves of the sandwich thin so 1 serving (1 sandwich) would be 10PP+. Hope that helps!

Something to say? Leave a comment

