Honey Balsamic Pork Chops (WW+ 6 points)

Today was WI #3.

*dun dun dun*

The verdict? -1.6lbs! Who’s da (wo)man! ME! I even got a 5 lb gold star. *happy sigh* I like gold stars. They make me happy. Yes, I was teacher’s pet as a child too.

It might not sound like a lot to some people. But my total so far is -5.8lbs in 3 weeks. Every loss adds up. And I’m not taking any loss lightly. Get it? Losing weight. Lightly. Oh come on. That was funny!

Nikki put it in perspective for me with this little chart:

[WL = Weekly Loss, YL = Yearly Loss]

WL of 0.2 pounds = YL of 10.4 pounds
WL of 0.4 pounds = YL of 20.8 pounds
WL of 0.6 pounds = YL of 31.2 pounds
WL of 0.8 pounds = YL of 41.6 pounds
WL of 1.0 pounds = YL of 52.0 pounds
WL of 1.2 pounds = YL of 62.4 pounds
WL of 1.4 pounds = YL of 72.8 pounds
WL of 1.6 pounds = YL of 83.2 pounds
WL of 1.8 pounds = YL of 93.6 pounds
WL of 2.0 pounds = YL of 104.0 pounds

Right now I’m averaging -1.9 lbs/week. Now I know that weight loss isn’t that consistent all the time. There will be ups and downs but I think it is realistically possible to lose 50lbs in 6-8 months to get to my goal weight. What’s 6 months in my whole life? A drop in the bucket. I can do it. I’m committed.

My husband said if I continue to cook like this, I can do whatever I put my mind too and he’ll support me. What is it about men and meat? lol


Honey Balsamic Pork Chops
Recipe from Cook This Not That

Makes 4 servings
Original recipe = 6 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 9 WW+ points

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
2 tbsp butter, unsalted
2 tbsp honey
1 tsp fresh rosemary
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
4 thick cut pork chops
salt and pepper, to taste
2 cups brown rice, cooked
1 lb asparagus

1. In a small saucepan, combine the balsamic vinegar, butter, honey, rosemary and pepper flakes over medium-high heat until butter melts and mixture bubbles. Remove from heat. Set aside 2 tbsp of the balsamic glaze.
2. Season the pork chops with salt and pepper and brush with remaining glaze. Grill the pork chops over medium high heat on a grill or grill pan. Cook for 3-4 minutes per side, depending on thickness. For medium pork, a thermometer inserted in the thickest part will be 140F. I guess my pork chops were fairly thick b/c after 4 minutes/side it was still pink in the center so I threw them in the oven 400F for 10 minutes.
3. Remove chops from grill and spoon the reserved glaze over each chop.
4. Serve with brown rice and grilled asparagus.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He really enjoyed the pork chop and said “Vegetarians don’t know what they are missing!” nom nom nom

Wifey rating: 5/5
The pork was so juicy and went so well with the balsamic vinegar and honey glaze. The rice and asparagus were a nice compliment too. Will definitely make again!

One response

Something to say? Leave a comment

