Juicy Hamburgers (WW+ 6 points)

Aunt Flo is visiting soon (TMI?) and I’m getting some wicked cravings (and bloating. Ugh!) The cravings are mostly sweets (no surprise there) but a red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting would not be a good dinner meal option so I opted for another craving. Burgers!

There’s just something about a good burger that makes everything right with my world. Even TOM.

I usually order the Bacon Avocado Cheeseburger from my favorite local burger joint near my house. Doesn’t the name just make you drool? It’s seriously the MOST amazing burger I’ve ever had. Unfortunately about 3 things in that name are HIGH in points: bacon, avocado and cheese. I think that burger is about half (if not more) of my Daily Points (DP). Yikes! This is why I’m fat! So I knew that my home cooked WW alternative would need some serious editing especially since Weigh In (WI) #3 is tomorrow.

EEK!

Wish me luck.


Juicy Hamburgers
Recipe adapted from Weight Watchers

Makes 4 servings
Original recipe = 6 WW+ points
CB’s changes in red = 8 WW+ points

cooking spray
1 lb uncooked lean ground beef (less 7% fat)
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp garlic, minced (I used 2 cloves)
1/2 tsp table salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
4 items reduced-calorie hamburger rolls (I used Oroweat Sandwich Thins)

Toppings:
4 leaves of butter lettuce
1 large tomato, sliced
4 slices reduced fat swiss cheese
mustard
ketchup
pickle

1. Coat a large griddle, outdoor grill rack or stovetop grill pan with cooking spray over medium-high.
2. Combine beef, Worcestershire sauce, garlic, salt and pepper. Mix with hands and shape into 4 patties, about 1-inch-thick each. To retain juiciness, be careful not to overwork the meat. (I weighed each patty about 4 oz.)
3. Place burger patties on hot griddle or grill and cook 5 minutes per side for medium (or longer to preferred of doneness).
4. Serve burgers on rolls with your favorite toppings. (If you use different toppings, make sure you calculate the additional points/serving.)

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He loves hamburgers and asked “Are you sure we can eat this on Weight Watchers?” Yes! Yes we can! But he didn’t really wait for my answer before diving in. lol

Wifey rating: 5/5
I love a good burger and now I know that I don’t have to drive to my favorite burger joint to get a good low point burger. This was easy and SO good. I served with cheese fries which were also REALLY tasty but not photogenic. FYI. If you have quick release foil, use it. Those starchy suckers stuck to the pan something awful for me!

3 responses

  1. This looks yummy. I had a burger for dinner and it was way over this count. I have to work harder on the weekends. When I cook for hubby (who is losing weight by skipping seconds (jerk)), I seem to add more to my plate. Weekdays are easier since it is fruit and yogurt for breakfast and a WW meal at lunch.

Something to say? Leave a comment

