Asian Steak and Noodles (WW+ 7 points)

It really makes me sad when I hear that people don’t have a lot of support while they are on Weight Watchers. I feel like aside from tracking your food and exercising regularly, support is probably the most important part of success in my opinion.

I’m very lucky. My husband does not need to lose weight. He’s about 5’8 and 130lbs. But he never complains about what I cook. He does the dishes every night. He is always encouraging and loving when I get down on myself. He picks me up when I fall. He’s my biggest fan when I succeed be it a scale victory (SV) or non-scale victory (NSV). I know that WHEN I reach my goal weight, he’ll be the reason why I never gave up. 

Before you hate on him for weighing 130 lbs, let me tell you why he’s so diligent about his weight. My husband has a chronic disease called Ankylosing Spondilitis (AS). It’s an arthritic disease that affects his hips. He takes weekly injections to help ease the pain. He has good days. He has bad days. He use to weigh 165 lbs (at his highest) but after he was diagnosed with AS, his rheumatologist recommended losing weight would help ease the pressure on his hip to postpone a hip replacement for as long as possible. I think when your doctor gives you that kind of ultimatum, you change your perspective on food. Now he eats to live, not live to eat.

He’s my inspiration.

I want to lose weight and be healthy so that when the day comes that he needs a hip replacement, *I* can be the shoulder he leans on. But hopefully he’ll still do the dishes.


Asian Steak and Noodles
Recipe adapted from Weight Watchers

Makes about 6 servings
Original recipe = 7 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 8 WW+ points/servings

2-1/2 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce, divided (I used 3-1/2 tbsp, divided)
1 tbsp dry sherry (I used 2 tbsp sherry)
1/2 tsp fresh ginger root
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb raw lean flank steak, trimmed of all visible fat (I used 1-1/2 lb flank steak)
8 oz soba noodles or lo mein (I used 12oz udon noodles)
2 tbsp hoisin sauce
1 tsp dark sesame oil
1/8 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1 medium red bell pepper, seeded and thinly sliced
1 green bell pepper, seeded and thinly sliced (I omitted)
2 medium scallions, thinly sliced
6 oz bean sprouts
2 tsp olive oil

1. In a shallow baking dish, mix 1 tablespoon of the soy sauce, the sherry, ginger, and garlic. Add the steak, turning to coat. Let stand 20 minutes to marinate. I cup up the flank steak into small cubes and marinated in 2 tbsp of soy sauce, 2 tbsp sherry, ginger and garlic for 20 minutes.
2. Cook the soba noodles according to package directions. Drain and set aside.
3. Combine 1-1/2 tbsp soy sauce, the hoisin sauce, sesame oil, and crushed red pepper. Then add the bell peppers and scallions; toss to combine. I combined 1-1/2 tbsp soy sauce, hoisin sauce, sesame oil and crushed pepper in a small bowl. And set aside.
4. Spray a broiler rack with nonstick spray; preheat the broiler. Broil the steak 5 inches from the heat until an instant-read thermometer inserted into the center of the steak registers 160°F for medium, 145°F for medium-rare, about 4 minutes on each side for medium. Thinly slice the steak on the diagonal across the grain into about 24 slices. Divide the noodles and vegetables among 6 plates; top with the steak slices. I added olive oil and flank steak to a skillet and cooked over medium-high heat. After the steak cooked to preferred doneness, I added bell peppers and bean sprouts for a few minutes. Then added soba noodles and soy sauce mixture to the skillet. I tossed to coat for a few minutes until everything was heated through.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 5/5
He is usually very strict about his diet (as I mentioned above) so I was surprised when he finished his plate and went to get 2nds! I have a feeling I’ll be putting this one on the repeat dinner rotation.

Wifey rating: 5/5
If you didn’t notice by my previous posts, I love Asian cooking. And this one did not disappoint. I’m looking forward to the leftovers for lunch. The steak was so good with the udon noodles and veggies. I like it b/c you can change up the veggies depending on what’s in your refrigerator too. Next time I’ll probably add some mushrooms or broccoli. Yum!

2 responses

Something to say? Leave a comment

