Crunchy Peanut Butter Noodles (WW+ 6 points)

Friday is menu planning day in my house.

Every Friday I take an hour to put together the menu for the next week, write a shopping list and go to the grocery store. I think this ritual has made the transition easier especially since I’m a list girl. I love lists. So you can imagine that I enjoy figuring out our meals. Although I didn’t notice until now how seafood and pasta heavy my menu was this week. What can I say? I’m a carb freak and I love seafood.

Oh and post-its.

Nikki and I have a running joke about my post-it obsession. Santa always brings me post-its for my stocking. In every color of the rainbow. It’s glorious.


Crunchy Peanut Butter Noodles
Recipe adapted from Weight Watchers

Makes 4 servings
Original recipe = 6 WW+ points/servings
CB’s changes in red = 10 WW+ points/servings

3 tbsp reduced-fat peanut butter, smooth
2 tbsp rice vinegar, seasoned
1 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
1 tbsp water
1 tsp dark sesame oil
1 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
4 oz uncooked linguini (I used precooked 12 oz udon noodles)
1/2 medium red bell pepper, seeded and cut into thin strips (I used 1 large red bell pepper)
1/4 cup snow peas, fresh, trimmed and cut on diagonal in half (I used 1/2 lb snow peas)
1/4 small cucumber, peeled, seeded, and diced (I used 1 small cucumber)
2 medium scallions, finely chopped
2 tbsp cilantro, chopped
2 tbsp unsalted dry roasted peanuts, chopped (I used cashews instead)
2 tsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined

1. In a skillet, cook the garlic and shrimp, over medium-high heat, until shrimp is pink and opaque. Transfer to a plate, wrap with foil to keep warm.
2. In a small bowl, whisk together the peanut butter, vinegar, soy sauce, water, sesame oil, sugar, and crushed red pepper until smooth and creamy. Set aside.
3. Cook the linguine according to package directions. Drain and rinse under cold running water. (Warm the udon noodles in a small pot of boiling water for 2 minutes. Drain and rinse under cold water.)
4. Combine the shrimp, linguine, peanut sauce, bell pepper, snow peas, cucumber, scallions, and cilantro in a large bowl. Toss gently to mix. Sprinkle with the peanuts before serving.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 4/5
He liked this dish but he’s not a big shrimp fan so he said if I made it next time with chicken or steak it would be 5/5.

Wifey rating: 4/5
I increased the veggies from the original menu b/c I’m use to way more noodles when I eat Peanut Butter Noodles at a restaurant so I figured filling up on the veggies would be a good thing. The addition of the shrimp is a must for me but if you want to go vegetarian this would be a good one minus the shrimp.

Something to say? Leave a comment

