Scallop Pad Thai (WW+ 6 points)

My vice is pasta (and Samoas cookies but that’s another post for another time).

My favorite pasta dish is Pad Thai. But to my horror, my favorite restaurant’s Pad Thai is WAY more points that I should be eating at one time. I literally cried. Big fat salty tears.

Thankfully I have the greatest husband in the world. He bought me a new cookbook from Borders during their Going Out Of Business sale (is anyone else sad about Borders?) last week. And like a brilliant flash of light, I opened the book and it turned right to Scallop Pad Thai.

It was almost a divine experience.


Scallop Pad Thai
Recipe adapted from 300 Calorie Cookbook

Makes about 6 servings
Original recipe = 6 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 7 WW+ points/serving

7oz rice stick noodles
3 tbsp packed brown sugar
3 tbsp fish sauce OR 3 tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce+1 tbsp dry sherry (I used fish sauce)
3 tbsp rice vinegar
1 tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce
1 tbsp chili puree with garlic
1 tsp paprika
1 lb bay scallops
2 tsp canola oil (I used olive oil)
1/2 cup green onions, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
8 oz fresh bean sprouts, rinsed and drained (I used 10oz)
1 cup shredded carrots (I used 10oz)
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
2 tbsp finely chopped dry roasted peanuts (I used cashews)
6 lime wedges

1. Fill a microwave safe bowl with water. Add noodles. Microwave uncovered on high for 3-5 minutes until water is hot. Let sit for 5 minutes. Drain and set aside.
2. In a small bowl, combine brown sugar, fish sauce, rice vinegar, soy sauce, chili puree, and paprika. Set aside.
3. Pat scallops dry with paper towels. Heat oil in a skillet over medium high heat. Add scallops and green onions. Cook for 4 minutes, stirring frequently until the scallops are opague. Stir in bean sprouts and cook for 1 minute.
4. Stir fish sauce mixture and noodles into scallop mixture. Cook for 2 minutes until heated through and spouts are no longer crisp.
5. Remove skillet from heat. Toss scallop mixture with carrots and cilantro. Sprinkle with peanuts and a lime wedge.

Enjoy!

Husband rating: 4.5/5
My husband isn’t a pad thai freak like me but he really liked this recipe esp the scallops instead of the traditional shrimp.

Wifey rating: 5/5
Oh baby! If you have a pad thai craving like me, you’ll love this recipe. It’s easy and has a lot of great flavor. If you want it to be less spicy, you might wanna reduce the chili puree. I liked the scallops but I think next time I’ll use shrimp instead. It’s my favorite seafood.

Something to say? Leave a comment

