Crock Pot Salsa Chicken (WW+ 8 points)

I wanna pat myself on the back. So give me a moment.

*pat pat pat*

I knew when I started Weight Watchers (WW) that I wasn’t gonna half ass it like last time. Oh yes. I’ve done WW before. Back in 2002. But I know now that I wasn’t doing it for the right reason then. Yes, I wanted to lose weight but I was doing it for my mom. If you don’t do it for yourself, you won’t success. Period. So it’s no surprise that I quit 1 month later, heavier than when I started.

But this time. I’m doing it for Me, Myself and I.

Because you can’t do WW sometimes or when it’s convenient. Yes, I plan out my weekly dinner menu every Friday. Yes, I cook more meals at home. Yes, it takes me longer at the grocery store b/c I’m punching nutritional info for foods into my WW calculator. Yes, I still think that the elliptical is a torture device but that doesn’t stop me from getting on it 3-4x/week. But all that effort gets me closer to my goal. So I’d say it’s worth it.

One of the things I am focusing on is menu planning so I’m not stuck in a “omg-I-have-no-idea-what-to-make-for-dinner-so-I’ll-just-order-pizza” moments. Since I’m out of the house for 10+ hours I decided to make Wednesday nights crockpot night at my house. If you have a crockpot night at your house you NEED to add this one to your to-make list. I already have it on the menu for next Wednesday.


Crock Pot Salsa Chicken
Recipe adapted from Crazy Delicious Food

Makes about 8 servings
Original recipe = 8 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 10 WW+ points/serving

4 chicken breasts* boneless and skinless
1-10.5 oz can cream of mushroom soup
1 packet (1-1/4oz) taco seasoning
1-16 oz jar salsa (I used Pace Picante mild)
1-15 oz can corn, whole kernal, drained
1-15 oz can black beans, drained (I omitted)
1 cup reduced fat sour cream
Baked Tostitos Scoops**

* I put them in frozen and cooked on low for 10 hours.
**Love these chips! 3 points/1 serving (about 14 chips)

1. Put the chicken breast in the bottom of the crockpot.
2. Mix soup, salsa, and taco seasoning together and pour over chicken.
3. Cook on low for 8-10 hours.
4. Before serving, shred the chicken in the crockpot with 2 forks, add corn, beans, and sour cream. Cook for a few more minutes until everything is heated through.
4. Serve with tortilla chips.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: 5/5
My husband requested his salsa chicken in a whole wheat tortilla. If you serve it his way then it’s 2 points extra/tortilla. According to him, the points were worth it. But he’s a skinny biotch, so what does he know? haha

Wifey rating: 5/5
This was SO ah-maze-ing! I love how easy it was to make and how delicious it was to eat. I’m already looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. I had a hard time stopping myself after 1 serving. Actually I’m sitting here contemplating if 8 points of my Weeklies would be worth it to have 1 more serving. And Nikki can tell you that I HOARD my Weeklies. It was THAT good.

7 responses

  1. Eeeww beans! Although I probably shouldn't have told T about omitting the black beans b/c he insists that I add the beans next time. *smacks forehead*

  2. Thanks EG! You can definitely customize it to make it less points like the cream of mushroom soup (it was 1 point/serving less) and the sour cream. But I definitely think adding in the taco seasoning gave it a great flavor. It is 2 points but over 8 servings it isn't much.

Something to say? Leave a comment

