Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore (WW+ 5 points)

When I made the decision to start Weight Watchers (Thanks for the bitch slap encouragement Nikki!) I decided I needed to make mini goals for myself. Goals that gave me little victories along the “weigh” (pun intended!).

1. Switch to whole wheat pasta
2. Switch to diet soda
3. Reach my 5% weight loss goal in 4 weeks

I think I’m doing ok with #2 and #3 but it’s gonna take me a longer than I thought to get use to the whole wheat pasta switcharoo. I can’t help it! It tastes like cardboard to me. When I mentioned my aversion to cardboard tasting wheat pasta, a friend recommended Barilla Plus to me.

And I figured adding something tomato sauce-y would sweeten the deal.


Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore
Recipe adapted from Weight Watchers

Makes about 4 servings
Original recipe = 5 WW+ points/serving
CB’s changes in red = 11 WW+ points/serving

1 pound skinless chicken thighs, cut into bite-size pieces (I used boneless skinless chicken breast instead)
1 cup mushrooms, sliced, fresh or canned (I used portabella mushrooms)
1 cup green pepper, sliced
1 cup onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp tomato paste
14-1/2 oz canned crushed tomatoes, fire-roasted (I didn’t use fire roasted)
1/4 cups dry red wine
3/4 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp salt + 1/4 tsp salt (I used kosher)
1/4 tsp black pepper
8 oz Barilla Plus penne

1. Place chicken in crock pot.
2. Add mushrooms, green pepper, onion, garlic, tomato paste, tomatoes and juice, wine, oregano, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and black pepper.
2. Cook on high heat for 5-6 hours or on low heat for 6-8 hours. Taste and add remaining 1/4 teaspoon of salt if needed.

ENJOY!

Husband Rating: 5/5
He really enjoyed this one and called dibs on the leftovers for his lunch tomorrow.

Wifey rating: 4/5
I liked this one. The sauce was yummy with the chicken. I’m still getting use to the whole wheat pasta but this brand did seem less cardboard-y to me. Or maybe my tastebuds are getting use to it?

2 responses

Something to say? Leave a comment

