Caramel Cookies (WW+ 1 point)

I have a sweet tooth. And I think that’s the thing I’m missing the most right now. So I started trolling around the Weight Watcher website for a relatively low point dessert that I could make for myself as a reward for jogging 15 minutes with the dog this morning.

It’s the little victories, people.

Just let me have it.


Caramel Cookies
Recipe adapted from Weight Watchers

Makes about 60 cookies
Original recipe = 1 WW+ point / serving
CB’s changes in red = 1 WW+ point / serving

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 tsp table salt (I used kosher salt)
1/2 tsp baking soda*
1/8 tsp cinnamon

* I accidentally used baking powder so mine are probably pretty flat compared to using baking soda. No matter. They are still quite tasty!

1. In a large bowl, sift together the flours, salt and baking soda. Set aside.
2. In a stand mixer fitted with a flat beater (or an electric mixer), cream the butter, brown sugar, egg and vanilla extract. While the mixer is still running, slowly add in the dry ingredients until everything is incorporated.
3. Scrape cookie dough onto a sheet of plastic wrap (I used wax paper) and shape into a log about 2-1/2 inches wide. (Mine was about 1-1/2 inches wide to be able to get 60 servings.)
4. Refrigerate until firm about 20 minutes or overnight. (I put mine in the freezer for 1 hour).
5. Slice dough into 1/8″ thick slices and bake for 8-10 minutes. (I baked for 6-7 minutes for a softer/chewy cookie although the longer they sit out they will get crispy.)

ENJOY!

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: 4/5
I don’t know how WW did it. The cookie in their picture looks HUGE but to get 60 cookies mine were tiny. And honestly. Girl Scout thin mints are 1 point each and no baking required. That being said. These are good cookies to have around for your sweet tooth if there’s no cute cookie selling sash wearing girl scout around. I only sliced off 5 cookies and put the cookie dough back in the freezer to slice another time. It’s a good thing too b/c I ate all 5 cookies. Oops!

4 responses

  1. Yeah I was a little confused on that. When I put it in my tracker it said 7 points. WTF! But I went with it b/c I'd rather play it safe then delusional with my points. lol

  2. Ugh the rounding annoys me. I want an x point food to always be that many points per serving.

    CB it's because they round. So like each cookie is probably worth like 1.3 points for example, so for one cookie they round down, but more cookies add more points because those .3's start to ad up to whole points.

Something to say? Leave a comment

